AM Celebrates 50 years on ABC Radio

It was on 4 September, 1967 that Robert PeachAM’s first presenter, announced to listeners: “Good morning, I’m Robert Peach and every weekday morning from now on we’ll be taking a fresh look at the world, what it’s talking about, what people in the news are doing …”

In the half-century since he spoke those words, AM has gone on to become a fixture of Australia’s airwaves, bringing listeners award-winning journalism from around the nation and the globe and setting the day’s agenda with the latest political news and analysis. From events that have changed the world forever to the local issues affecting a regional town, AM is there to tell audiences what’s happening and why.

“Fifty years on, AM remains appointment listening for audiences,” said ABC Director, News Gaven Morris. “The ABC’s network of journalists around the country and the world continue to bring Australians unique stories, as well as giving scrutiny to the nation’s leaders in politics, business and every other sector that affects our lives.”

From 4 September, AM will commemorate its 50th anniversary on-air and online, looking back on some of the biggest stories covered by the program and giving audiences a look at what was going on behind the scenes. 

AM is heard at 8am Monday to Saturday on ABC Radio, online, on Digital Radio and ABC Radio app. 

Early AM can be heard each weekday morning at 6.05am on ABC Radio and at 7.10am on ABC RN.  AM is presented by Sabra Lane Monday to Friday and by Elizabeth Jackson on Saturday.

AM Presenters

1967 – 1974                        Robert Peach

1968                                    Brian Wright

1973 – 1975                        Bill Dowsett

1976                                    Hamish Robertson

1977 – 1978                        Kel Richards

1979 – 1980                        Steve Cosser

1981 – 1986                        Red Harrison

1986 – 1987                        John Highfield

1988 – 1993                        Peter Thompson

1994 – 1996                        Ellen Fanning

1997 – 2001                        Peter Cave

2001 – 2003                         Linda Mottram

2004 – 2014                        Tony Eastley

2014 – 2015                        Chris Uhlmann

2015 – 2017                        Michael Brissenden

2017 – present                    Sabra Lane


Tags: | |