David Melzer’s Michael Law Award and other CBAA Award winners

David Melzer (pictured right as ringmaster at one of the conference sessions) was presented with the Michael Law Award for contributions to community broadcasting at the CBAA National Conference on the Gold Coast this weekend.

Melzer, who began his community radio career in Geelong, worked at an Aboriginal station in Fitzroy Crossing and is now manager of 3MBS FM, was recognised for his significant contributions to the community sector in his 15 year broadcast career. He is also a past-president of the CBAA.

In his acceptance speech he talked about Australia’s indigenous cultural heritage, saying it is “undervalued” and that community broadcasters should “play a part in changing that.”

Other winners at the CBAA Awards, held in the Grand Ballroom of the Gold Coast International hotel were:

Radio – Excellence in Spoken Word programming (Sponsored by Deutsche

Category 1 3CR -Beyond the Bars – Out and Blak.

Category 2 8CCC -Vashty’s Voice, Women in Black.

Category 3 Radio NAG -Words and Music.

Radio- Best Innovative New Program / Segment Idea: Radio 6DBY-
Stories of History and Country.

Radio- Station of the Year: 4MBS Classic FM.

Radio – Can’t Get Out of the Car Award: SYN FM- The Naughty Rude

Radio – Contribution to Local Music content (sponsor APRA):
Radio Adelaide- South Australian Music Profiles.

Radio – Excellence in Music Programming (sponsor PPCA): 2SER- The

Contribution to Indigenous Broadcasting (Radio+TV): 8KIN- Our
Place Radio.

Contribution to Ethnic Broadcasting (TV & Radio): Radio

Radio – Innovative Place / Subject for an Outside Broadcast:
2BOB- Mick Tuck’s Funeral Service.

Television Producer of the Year: Bryce Ives – C31 Melbourne.

Radio – Best / Innovative Idea in Fundraising: 2RRR Great
RRRadio Recipes.

Radio – Best/Innovative Announcement, Sponsorship or Promotion:
Noosa Community Radio- Eumundi Landscape Supplies.

Radio – Excellence in Sports Programming: 3CR – Marngrook Footy

Television- Program of the Year: Channel 31 Melbourne –

Radio – Innovative Station / Program Promotion Idea: Joy FM- The
Drive By Promotion.

New Voices (Radio & TV): Beau FM- The Lead on Radio Show.

Radio – Value for Money: SYN FM- Strategic Planning , Volunteer,
Recruitment and Training.

Tony Staley Award: BLU FM.

Michael Law Award: Mr David Melzer.

radioinfo congratulates all winners.