The shortlist for the First Nations Media Awards has been released

The shortlist has been announced for the inaugural First Nations Media Awards to be presented on the final night of CONVERGE Sydney, Friday 23 November 2018 at Turner Hall, TAFE NSW, Ultimo.
This event is a double celebration, featuring the launch of the new indigiTUBE platform and the presentation of the Awards.
Over 85 nominations were received, with all eligible nominations assessed by a panel of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with significant industry experience.
The shortlisted nominees for the inaugural First Nations Media Awards are:
Best Radio Production
Warlpiri Women – PAW Media
Ngaanyatjarra Dreaming series – NG Media
Blak Diggers – Media Heads
Best Language/Culture Production
Niminjarra – PAKAM
Wata Burrmalala (Cyclone Culture) – ARDS
Yarripiri’s Journey – PAW Media
Best News or Current Affairs Program
BlackChat – Lola Forrester (Koori Radio)
The Point – NITV
Our Voices – Noongar Radio
Best Training & Professional Development
Rebekah O’Meare – 6DBY
Best Sports Coverage
Yuendumu Sports Weekend – PAW Media
Central Kimberley Football League – Wangki Radio
Lady Mustangs Basketball Carnival – Ngaarda Media
Best Documentary – Long
WIK vs Queensland – Dean Gibson, Helen Morrison & Trish Lake (Bent3land Productions)
After The Apology – Larissa Behrendt
Yarripiri’s Journey – Simon Fisher Jnr, Jason Woods, Anna Cadden & Jonathan Daw (PAW Media)
Best Documentary – Short
Transblack – Charmaine Ingram & Mitchell Stanley (ABC)
Apakatjah – Cast in Half – Chris Fitzpatrick (CAAMA)
Nyambi – Mark Watjana Ashley (ARDS)
Best Drama or Comedy Award
Which Way? Right Way – Barkly Arts
Welcome to Country – Dean Gibson & Helen Morrison
Grace Beside Me – Dena Curtis (NITV)
Best Music Video
Struggle – Blackrock Band
Friends with Feelings – Alice Skye
Native Tongue – Mojo Juju
Best News or Current Affairs Story
The Last of the Rabbit Proof Fence Ladies has Passed Away – Ngaarda Media
Guilty of Being Stolen – Madeline Hayman-Reber & Sylvia Rowley (NITV)
Pleas for Action on Uranium in Drinking Water – Bridget Brennan, Isabella Higgins & Emily Napangarti Butcher (ABC)
Best Interview or Oral History
Living Black – NITV
Rudi Maxwell – Koori Mail
Dre Ngatokorua – Umeewarra Media
Best Promotion or Station ID
Goolarri Media 1
Goolarri Media 2
Best Photography
Dre Ngatokorua – Umeewarra Media
Debbie Carmody – Tjuma Pulka 963FM
Jillian Mundy – Koori Mail
Recipients of Lifetime Achievement and First Nations Outstanding Contributor Awards will be announced at the Awards dinner on Friday 23 November.