Winner of ABC inaugural Regional Storyteller Scholarship announced | radioinfo

Winner of ABC inaugural Regional Storyteller Scholarship announced

Thursday 17 May, 2018

Castlemaine singer-songwriter Eliza Hull took out the scholarship.

The Regional Storyteller Scholarship was launched last year to develop regional writers and content makers in the disability community.

Eliza (pictured) will work with ABC staff in Bendigo for six months to develop stories about parents with disabilities.

Eliza said she was drawn to the scholarship because she was passionate about telling her own story as a parent with a disability, as well as those of other parents with disabilities.  

“My aim is to take away the stigmas of disability, whilst sharing stories that are honest, thought provoking and informative. I believe that positive change will occur the more we talk about disability,” she said. 

The Regional Storyteller Scholarship will provide Eliza with mentoring from the ABC’s Bendigo team as well as training and access to production resources and facilities.

Due to the strong response following the scholarship launch last October and the high calibre of applicants, the ABC has created additional opportunities for several emerging content makers from around the country to work with their local ABC team.  These include: 


  • a four-week internship offered to Jade Calvery from Port Lincoln, by ABC Eyre Peninsula.
  • a masterclass with ABC North and West SA offered to Zia Westerman from Whyalla.
  • a six-month contract to work with ABC South West WA offered to Brad Scott from Bunbury.
  • a regular spot as a casual features reporter at ABC Mid-West WA offered to Chris Kerr from Geraldton.
  • Terry Litton, from Ballina,  has been offered the opportunity to develop his digital video series Leagueability with ABC North Coast.

The Director of Regional & Local, Michael Mason, said the response to the call out showed there was a strong set of talented content makers with disabilities living and working in regional Australia.   “The ABC is keen to champion them and their work more,” he said.

The scholarship will be awarded again in 2019 and 2020.

Post a Comment


Log InYou must be logged in to post comments.
radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.