What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Radio Advocate
7 July 2020 - 7:41am
Congratulations Mark and the ACE family, this will be a great addition to your Victorian footprint! ACE Radio brings back 3MP
Anthony The Koala
6 July 2020 - 10:16am
Two points.
(1) I have been listening to NewsRadio and I believe that incorporating the news bulletins used by RN and metropolitan enhance NewsRadio. Today, 06-07-2020 I listened to Helen Tzarimas (who used to banter with Stan Zemanek (RIP) when she read the evening news bulletins on 2UE).

To me NewsRadio is the real news talk radio. It's about news, not opinion nor travel nor cooking segments or other sponsored segments. Nothing wrong with opinion, cooking, travel and other sponsored segments, but it they are not news. To me it was the best decision that the then MD Mr David Hill made in 1994 to use the reserve transmission facilities at Liverpool for not interrupting RN and metropolitan (2BL) with parliamentary broadcasts.

It was also a clever decision that when Federal Parliament was in session that Parliament was covered on the AM band (630kHz) while the NewsRadio coverage continued on DAB+. It was that decision that motivated me in 2009 to purchase the DAB+ so I have a choice between listening to Parliament on 630kHz OR NewsRadio on DAB+.

(2) I made an error in regards the glockenspiel towards the end of the track in the Chappell version of "Majestic Fanfare". The Chappell version's last few bars had two strikes of the glockenspiel. The one that went to air had the first strike of the glockenspiel not the second strike of the glockenspiel.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
RIP ABC 0745 News bulletin
Anthony The Koala
5 July 2020 - 1:17pm
I believe that Marcus Paul could well be the rising star of 2SM. While I believe that 2GB's Ben Fordham's program is more newsy than his former afternoon shift, Marcus Paul could be serious competition.

Tuning in the last few days to 2SM, I heard two of Alan Jones' former callers Stephanie and Marie call the station. On Marcus's facebook page, you can hear a sample of Stephanie. The musical introduction of two bars of Laura Brannigan's "Gloria" at the beginning and ending of this audio clip aludes to the Alan Jones show, https://www.facebook.com/marcuspaulradio/videos/626048104673056/
2SM's current saying "give a trial up the dial...."

It is quite ironic that in the Daily Telegraph 05-07-2020 that Alan Jones said “...I don’t mean to be unkind to the medium which has been very kind to me, but I don’t miss anything....” He went on to say that he does not and has not listened to radio since leaving because he does not have the time to listen, 5th paragraph,
https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/entertainment/television/alan-jones-new-sky-news-show-to-be-different-as-he-tackles-issues-australians-worry-about/news-story/24648e68b5421c2ffb20285b3863f3cb
(subscription may be needed) .

Even though I do listen to 2GB, it is not as frequent. I cannot explain it. After listening to NewsRadio and RN on weekends I listen to 2GB's Chris Smith then either to RN or NewsRadio and 2SM. When I do listen to 2SM, I do hear callers from 2GB such as Marie from the Shire, David the lawyer from Rouse Hill and Cedric from Campsie.

On my reflection of listening to 2GB over the last few years, I thought the changes to programming at 2GB were over when the management changed in late 2019 (October/September). No, the new management continued to change for example Ross Greenwood (1800-2000) departing in December 2019. Despite George Moore departing from December 2019, it is not the same as him filling in for the afternoon presenter.

2GB's use of former TV presenters on radio is not new. The ABC's radio presenters also work on ABC TV and vice versa. PK, Virginia Trioli, Sabra Lane both present on radio and TV. Go back 60 years, it was radio's Jack Davey and Bob Dyer who went on to TV. Even in the 1960s and 1970s, Bert Newton, Don Lane and Tony Barber were not only on radio but on TV.

I should note that the current presenters on 2GB have led the Sydney market. That was while Alan Jones was on breakfast.

Given the theory that the breakfast show leads the rest of the day in ratings will be put to the test in the next survey.

I cannot predict whether 2GB will remain the market leader in the next available radio survey and whether 2SM will ever participate in a future ratings survey. The market may have remained or even moved away from 2GB. The constant changing of presenters on 2GB may affect stability of listenership.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Marcus Paul resigns from 2CC
Anthony The Koala
4 July 2020 - 7:14am
As a regular listener to NewsRadio between 0500-0700 before switching to RN, I have noticed that the abridged version of "Majestic Fanfare" used on metropolitan and RN was played on NewsRadio on the hour and half hour (eg 0630 and 0700).

Something related:
The abridged version of the "original" Chappell recording used by the ABC's TV and Radio Divisions can be heard in the last few bars of this recording at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYvFa0RmBbg. It is played in a different key.

"Original version" used by the ABC? The "on air" version had the "pipe organ" but did not include the sound of the glockenspiel on the last few bars.

Thank you
Anthony of musical ear of Belfield
RIP ABC 0745 News bulletin
Wando
3 July 2020 - 2:49pm
Great to hear that 3mp is returning. Don’t make the mistake of Magic by having a playlist that is duplicated by several FM stations. The original format played by 3mp was excellent but wasn’t promoted enough. ACE Radio has purchased 1377AM in Melbourne
Anthony The Koala
3 July 2020 - 11:10am
I received a brand new sealed copy "Thanks For Listening", UPC No: 9333767002774 two days ago.

A well-made documentary series. In relation to the ABC, for those advocating that the ABC become a subscription service, look to history. Before the formation of the ABC in 1932, the then Class A (non-commercial stations) relied on a subscription fee. It failed. Yet the ABC became a vital service 'enjoyed' by all.

Despite the failure in 1932, the ABC's financial model was a licence system imposed on all listeners. Then in 1974 the ABC's financial model was from a parliamentary appropriation.

Yesterday's lessons of sealed sets failing and a subscription service apply today. Sealed sets were hacked to receive other stations despite the threats by legislation prohibiting tampering. Today, encrypted set top boxes could be illegally hacked with illegally-distributed decryption keys. Legislation under the Copyright Act (Cth) exists to those who circumvent technological protection measures ('TPM'). The result, like that of the sealed sets will lead to an unsuccessful model.

Furthermore to make the ABC a subscription service today would require all analogue AM and FM transmitters to be switched off since there are no known means to successfully encrypt analogue signals.

Yes there were means to scrambling analogue TV services and yes there were methods of scrambling audio signals, particularly telephone signals during WWII. But then scrambling analogue services may result in pirating analogue key sequences and distributing them on the internet. Moreover encrypting analog signals would be impractical since there are (i) no analogue AM/FM radios with a system of encryption/decryption, (ii) it would be a pain to administer digital and analogue key distributions and (iii) it may make people break the TPM law under the Copyright Act.

Ever since I heard about cuts to the ABC as a child since the 1970s, it has always been programming cuts. A few examples In TV there is no sports on late Friday evening (the Harold Park trots), Saturday and Sunday afternoons, and there is no "Divine Service" where each week an OB van was plonked at a different house of worship. "Songs of Praise" while fine musically is not Australian.

In radio "The World Today" used to be one hour and programs for educational purposes such as "Let's Join In", "The Health Report" (FOR STUDENTS, NOT Dr Norman Swan's "Health Report") and current affairs for children graced 2FC (now RN).

I've always said that instead of programming cuts, there cuts may well be directed to reductions in management and the hierarchical structures of the ABC as well as negotiation with BA, the transmission entity to reduce the energy costs of running 100kW+ AM and FM transmitters where commercial AM stations mainly run 1kW, 2kW and 5kW and rarely 10kW for the same coverage area.

There may also well be a case for consolidating ABC and SBS tv channels. For example many of the programs and documentaries on SBS could well be broadcast on the ABC such as Michael Portillo's train documentaries.

On the other hand, given these uncertain times, as I mentioned before on this site, SW broadcasting by our ABC should resume particularly directed particularly towards the South Pacific as part of Australia's soft power. A reliable and clear signal via SW DRM can be achieved as has been demonstrated when RNZI could be clearly received in Spain via DRM, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkD01FuXOsg. If necessary, our Government should make an aid allocation to distribute SW DRM receivers to our Pacific Island neighbours' residents.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
ABC Radio chastised for what James Valentine didn’t do or say
Anthony The Koala
3 July 2020 - 10:17am
Thank you editor and author.
We can conclude that five minutes less of "AM" means one less story and/or less depth to other stories which is another 'cut' that has not been placed to prominence or highlighted as part of the other cuts.
Thank you,
Anthony of Belfield
ABC News strategy expands to digital despite cuts: Gaven Morris
TonyJWW
3 July 2020 - 9:09am
I wonder if the ABC, in Victoria, would consider networking the 8:30-9:00 half hour of Virginia Trioli's program throughout the state. This is the most important half hour of the program when Virginia addresses the main stories of the day and speaks to State and Federal politicians. (PMs, Ministers and Premiers are less likely to go on regional stations but do appear on capital city radio as that's the way to reach the maximum audience).

This would give local regional breakfast presenters a break of one hour from 08:00-09:00 and would allow them to continue on until 11:00. The ABC could then cut the 10:00-11:00 local presenter who is only on air for one hour. Save a further $80k (?) p.a.
ABC News strategy expands to digital despite cuts: Gaven Morris
Anthony The Koala
3 July 2020 - 4:16am
Dear author,
Will the five minute 0800 bulletin eat into the "AM" program making it 25 minutes with 5 minutes less depth or story OR will the "AM" program run conclude at 0835?
Thank you,
Anthony of Belfield


EDITOR: It will eat into the duration of AM, which will become 25 minutes.


ABC News strategy expands to digital despite cuts: Gaven Morris
Christian Arge
1 July 2020 - 1:53pm
Sorry but this is a load of nonsense. Can you show me the so called 'budget cuts' please. And I'm so bored with blaming the government for everything. There's no cuts. *2017 - $1.036 Billion *2018 - $1.043 Billion *2019 - $1.045 Billion and 2020 - $1.055 Billion. No cuts here. Here no cuts. I reckon there should be cuts personally. But there aren't any? I'll happily stand corrected though if you can show me and even watch an episode of Q&A without wanting to be physically ill. What about the ABC underpaying casual staff to the tune of $35 million? When they had to cough that $ up after being found guilty, all of a sudden reports of a $40 million funding shortfall. What BS. The management pay themselves bonuses upon bonuses and the EBA ensures pay rises for all year on year. They go through the motions except when it comes to having a whinge and a bitch about the federal government (and deleting any opinions the regime don't approve off). As the PM said the other day, jobs in the media are disappearing at an alarming rate in this country, there's very little job security in that industry, except if you work for the ABC, where the funding is guaranteed by the government. So we've seen what happens with billion dollar plus funding year on year. Can you imagine what it would be like if these so called 'budget cuts' actually happened for real? John Patkin's spirited defence of the ABC

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.