What You Think | radioinfo.com.au

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Nobby66
19 July 2017 - 3:53pm
Hold the phone....
"$130,000 for the licensing needed just to play the music"

Lets be clear here, APRA AMCOS and PPCA have cheap and simple charging model for community stations (all public information on their respective websites), to owe them $130K would mean they have a gross income already of about, or just over, 2.5 million dollars.

....and as for some of the other dollar amounts for services, they are doing something very wrong. 86K for IT? ... seriously? the only acceptable and fair cost there is the stations rent.
Fundraising drive launched to prevent community radio station from crashing
Eugene Delargy
11 July 2017 - 2:41am
Do you remember these?

https://www.themorningbulletin.com.au/news/glenda-mather-defamation-john-smith-livingstone-/2221681/

https://www.radioinfo.com.au/news/3761

Not the first time.


EDITOR:
Thanks, noted.
Radio station wins the right to claim damages from defamatory talkback caller
ajjafox
30 June 2017 - 6:16pm
Great article, and totally agree . . . to the previous comment on Murdoch owning more than 2 out of 3 . . . I think this was covered very well in Steve's paragraph 'Diversity of Voices' . . . we already have so many voices across many forms of media and I don't think one person's or company's opinion will be so relevant in the future or behold so much influence. My holiday… and why media reform is necessary
Kayley Harris
30 June 2017 - 4:47pm
Hi guys, love the story about Sarah and her family in radio. When I was at WS, we were then Wesgo and as such, Sarah and I were colleagues doing Breakfast for our respective stations.

I take my hat off to Sarah who is still going strong after nearly 30 years on what has to be, the most challenging shift in radio. To do that and raise children is absolutely incredible.

They say radio is on your blood. I followed my father into the business in 1981. My dad, John Harris worked in radio sales and prior to his death in 1988, was National Sales Manager for the AWA network.

Dad then conned Ian Lane, then Manager of 2UW into giving me a gig as Traffic Reporter for Rick Melbourne on Breakfast.

Fast forward to today and two of my children are now in radio as well. John (19) is a panel operator and call screener at Macquarie Media and my other son Nick (18) is also a panel operator at Macquarie.

I'm very grateful for the path my father forged in radio all those years ago that saw me get a leg up in the industry. I got in because my dad was a good bloke.

I've tried to teach my children that there is no such thing as a free ride and just because you get given an opportunity, you have to work hard to earn respect in what can be a stressful job at times as anyone reading to this will know...

Now the 15 year old wants in as well since she worked out it pays more than Maccas! Lol.
When radio is in the family
Radioinfo Reader
30 June 2017 - 10:52am
Read your article on media ownership. A good read.

I am interested though in what you think of Murdoch potentially owning
Two newspapers - print and online
Ten television network
Sky News
Foxtel ( or 50% )
Two FM radio networks + digital

This is of course a likely outcome if the reach and the two out of three rule are removed.
My holiday… and why media reform is necessary
Andy Wells
20 June 2017 - 10:35am
Andy Wells Media was also very honoured to pick up the Bronze Award for our music special "Celebrating 30 Years: U2 - The Joshua Tree" - Hosted by Barry Bissell. Aussie podcast picks up global award
Drano
31 May 2017 - 7:34pm
I copped redundancy in the 90s too. A memo went out at the station, with lots of names on it, saying we'd all be having individual meetings. It turned out only the top 4 names had those "meetings". This was on a Thursday, but for some reason I agreed to turn up the next morning to work a final brekky shift. However it was the best thing for my career, and paypacket. 'Redundancy may just end up being your best ever career move'
Wayne Stamm GM 2NUR
31 May 2017 - 11:23am
Congratulations Rachael.

Rachael is another member of the 2NURFM newsroom and a great example of why Community Radio is so important in the broadcasting landscape. Her experience at 2NUR was a vital part of gaining this prestigious scholarship and I have no doubt she will join the growing list of 2NUR alumni who have moved into full time employment in radio and television in recent years.
Newcastle Univeristy student winner of Brian White Scholarship
PhilD
30 May 2017 - 5:55pm
Said it before, I'll say it again. So long as the choice is restricted to juke-box style radio, most will seek choices online. Data plans are bigger and cheaper. Sure there are people without smartphones, but increasingly small in number. What is a young person most likely to have a) a phone or b) a radio?

I'm sure most DAB listeners in Oz are using it to get better reception from AM channels - but we can't tell, cos those figures are never published.

The inefficient use of spectrum argument is a bit pointless. It's choice that count. When I switch on my Spotify feed I don't think that it's an inefficient use of spectrum and, out of guilt, switch to MMM.
Joan Warner responds to Brad Smart's views on DAB+
Techyguy
30 May 2017 - 12:25pm
"This is an expensive and inefficient use of spectrum"

Joan, it would be premature for you to comment that its "expensive" when pricing hasn't been released for this product by any telco in Australia.

As for "inefficient" having a regional DAB+ Mux in some areas that will less then 30% full is what I call grossly inefficient.

"Similar studies in Europe showed mobile networks would not come close to being able to support radio listening which is why Europe is moving to DAB+"

You are confusing unicast or traditional streaming to LTE-B which is a 1 to many multicast technology when saying that mobile networks would not come close to being able to support radio listening. It would not matter if 1 or 100,000 are listening because thats what the technology is all about.

As far as considerable mobile network capacity, each base station has around 300mbits capacity so a few 64k streams is not going to impact the telco in the slightest. also remember if nobody has requested to listen on that base station it does not get broadcast. once again I think you are confusing unicast with multicast delivery mechanisms.

As far as distances in regional areas are concerned, the Telcos network already blow predicted DAB+ coverage models out of the water. not to mention better in building reception.

"Since the Coutts study there have been additional recent technical articles that also describe the limited or specific use of eMBMS for specific events only ie sport, concerts etc and not for wide area broadcasting."

You are correct in saying that it has only been used in sporting and concerts, but these were done as tests to prove the technology however The US are looking to this product because of the inherited problems with IBOC especially with regard to AM IBOC. This technology is going to be offered for TV and radio broadcasters for wide area broadcasting in Australia.

"Without DAB+ digital radio in regional Australia, broadcasters and listeners will be significantly disadvantaged compared to metropolitan broadcasters."

Without considering and embracing other technologies like LTE-B and even DRM+ in regional Australia, Broadcasters and Listeners will be significantly disadvantaged end of story.




Joan Warner responds to Brad Smart's views on DAB+

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  T: 0413 790 666 02 9888 5705  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.