What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
SingerK
19 February 2019 - 11:59am
Looks incredible! Well done UTS and 2SER. 2ser opens new state of the art studio on Broadway
Neil Docherty
12 February 2019 - 1:49pm
I would have not considered myself a 2ch listener as there was always a stigma associated with listening to this type of station, however since the appointment of Cherie, I have been listening on the 2ch app waiting for the change……changes in music, the content and the personalities has now shifted my attitude and my listening preference to CH……could this be the next big challenge for smooth & WS….. 2CH, Sydney’s new home of Classic Hits, launches a new line-up
Radioman
6 February 2019 - 2:06pm
I first met George not long after I started at 2BCR back in 1990. I found him to be funny, genuine and very easy going. He did some production work for me in the early days of my programs and even offered some friendly advice. Fast forward and even though he has made his final sign off that advice still rings true.

Always smiling, always with a laugh or a joke...the big grin will be sorely missed. Sleep well George.
Vale George Mihalos
Darren Moss
6 February 2019 - 8:24am
Little T and Big T have just gotta put aside any dramas and work together, especially in the current era of "we can get an app for that" or "nah, we don't need to hire anyone, that new thing can be handled by $ExternalCompanyX"

Like everything else today, the radio business is also finding new ways to freeze or reduce headcount, so the more value both Big T and Little T can add, the more the business will value and look to them for new projects.
Big T, Little T - should “engineering” be different to “IT”?
Annonymous
5 February 2019 - 6:43pm
I am so sad hearing this news..
A beautiful beautiful man who had the biggest heart, best sense of humour and would always go out of his way to help you.
RIP George. You’ll be very much missed and you’ve left a huge hole in the places you’ve worked at and the people who have met you.
Vale George Mihalos
ceejay
5 February 2019 - 3:52pm
There have been two recent articles (and many over the past couple of decades) that have warned of the demise of what James flippantly calls Big T. Technical standards across broadcasting have continued to fall because everyone seems to think that everything can be done by an app and nobody wants to pay for technical support with the result that just a few (mostly older) techs are now contracted to multiple stations and when faults occur, can only be in one place at a time to fix them. The recent streaming disasters are one case in point and having to wait "on hold" with a problem threatening on-air at the ABC is a personal experience I never thought I'd have to deal with. Big T, Little T - should “engineering” be different to “IT”?
Anthony The Koala
4 February 2019 - 6:36am
Another lost golden voice of radio and TV and young (23.11.1945 - 31.01.2019, 73). After the ABC (2011) one wonders why such a talent was not used by 2CH for its branding/station ID voiceover. The perfect voice for an easy listening station. Yes I know he was once a presenter on 2CH before joining the ABC in 1987.
Rest in peace.

Anthony of Belfield
Vale Tony Featherstone
joe2014
3 February 2019 - 7:27am
Thank you for letting us know about this sad news.

Tony Featherstone was also the Australian face at the end of the American religious church service, Hour Of Power, on Channel Ten each week.

I clearly remember the voice.

Joe
Vale Tony Featherstone
Nigel Holmes
1 February 2019 - 3:50pm
This makes sense for population pockets in the tropics.

The spectrum below 2 megs (including the MF broadcast band) is plagued by lightning static for much of the year.
Changes to Katherine NT radio services
Anthony The Koala
30 January 2019 - 4:00am
On DAB+, compared to other stations (Smooth @ 64kbs, 2WS @ 48kbs, Zoo @ 48kbs, Easy Hits @ 48kbs) , 2CH has the best signal quality at 128kbs.

While full-bandwidth +-15kHz (from carrier frequency) AM-stereo worked and was comparable in quality to FM, AM-stereo is passe because of a lack of high-bandwidth radios for sale.

Thus on signal quality alone, DAB trumps AM and FM.

On a ratings aspect, people typically say "....AM is no good for a music station..." When 2MMM (Sydney) and 2Day-fm were rating highly in the mid-1980s, 2CH was the top rating music station. Even today, "Classic Hits" 4KQ while not the top rating station, is earning respectable ratings at 8.9% (source Gfk survey, 8, 2018).

Nevertheless, there is a niggling feeling that Sydney is saturated with "classic hits"/"golden oldies" type formats. However, on signal quality alone on DAB, 2CH is the best.

In addition, 2CH should look at its voiceover and jingles. Search on the net for example the late Paul Ricketts' announcements for 2CH and jingles with a'capella/harmonic singing the callsign (2CH). That may well make 2CH 'stick out' as the station to relax and remember.

Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Tim Webster replaces Bob Rogers and Chris Kearns goes live at nights on 2CH

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.