What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Anthony The Koala
22 November 2019 - 3:27pm
Given that BOG's "Dance" and "Gorilla" don't participate in the ratings, how would the Hit Dance station make a valid comparison as whether it is a market leader or not. Let's not forget Edge which has a hint of "dance".

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Hit Dance lands on DAB radio
Anthony The Koala
22 November 2019 - 3:24pm
I still have a problem with the "refresh and renewal" every 10 years. If the former presenters have been able to obtain employment within the ABC that's fine.

Nevertheless, in the name of "refresh and renew" every 10 years, there is nothing in the anti-discrimination laws that exempt JJJ presenters or any other kind of supposed 'youth-oriented' entity. No contract term can override the statute.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Zan Rowe's triple j tweet stirs debate about the youth broadcaster
Anthony The Koala
19 November 2019 - 5:34pm
Dear Long Time Listener,
I hope you've read my response fully especially the first paragraph, that today's JJJ presenters are either metropolitan or RN presenters or go to other aspects of the ABC. For example the late Chris Winter went to local radio and helped the establishment of ABC2.

What have Myf Warhurst, Zan Rowe, Lindsay MacDougall, Marc Fennell and Simon Marnie have in common? They're not on JJJ anymore! JJ is for "older listeners" as in Zan Rowe's situation and the others have gone either to other parts of the ABC such as a metropolitan station as in Myf Warhurst, and Simon Marnie or RN as in Marc Fennell who is also seen on SBS. I also count Wollongong as a metropolitan/regional market where Lindsay MacDougall is presenting.

Therefore my observations over a long period are correct that today's JJJ presenters are tomorrow's ABC metropolitan/regional or RN or other aspects of the ABC or in other media as in Catriona Rowntree. Let's not forget Holger Brockmann who went from JJJ to commercial radio and back to ABC. News Radio.

Why they JJJ presenters don't last longer does raise another question. Did they leave on their own accord to go other places or if they had the capability to present for a youth-oriented station, were they discriminated against based on age.

I hate to be starting off at JJJ in my early 20s thinking one had a job for a long time then reach the age of 35. Would I be 'kicked out' or contract is not renewed because of age?

That is the question.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Linda Marigliano and Gen Fricker are the latest to leave triple j
Long Time Listener
19 November 2019 - 3:46pm
Not sure I agree Anthony The Koala...

Myf Warhurst does national Local Radio afternoons
Zan Rowe does Mornings on Double J
Lindsay MacDougall does Local Radio in Wollongong
Marc Fennell on RN does Download this Show
Simon Marnie does Sydney Weekend Mornings

Quite a few more out there, but that's just off the top of my head.
Linda Marigliano and Gen Fricker are the latest to leave triple j
Anthony The Koala
19 November 2019 - 1:37pm
Here is a general observation of former JJJ presenters and a remark.

Generally, today's JJJ presenters are tomorrow's metropolitan ABC (examples 702 ABC (2BL), 774 ABC (3LO), 666 ABC(2CN)) or RN presenters. Some are recruited to other aspects of the ABC or go to other stations. Some are leave the media and take a new direction.

I have noticed that there are no JJJ presenters from the 1980s, 1990s and early 2000s. If the presenters can do their work and are up-to-date in youth issues, one wonders if a JJJ presenter's contract is not renewed on the basis of age, and if so, isn't there a case for age discrimination, section 18, Age Discrimination Act (Cth), no 41, https://www.legislation.gov.au/Details/C2019C00132 .The legal proviso is that the Act came in force from 2004.

Nevertheless, even though the Act came in force in 2004, it is still unfair for those presenters who left JJJ because of age.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield


Linda Marigliano and Gen Fricker are the latest to leave triple j
Anthony The Koala
19 November 2019 - 1:12pm
Generally, it is an inevitability when business entities are amalgamated, that any 'replicated' roles are consolidated resulting in the loss of jobs.

Unfortunately during wholesale redundancies, valuable staff who could be retained are dismissed. It is not only in the radio industry. A management recruiter told me the example that in the financial services industry, that those dismissed "valuable" staff were recruited back to the employer, occasionally on a higher salary.

The recruitment 'back' of Mr Beers to 3AW is no exception. There is no information in the stories on whether this is a permanent or temporary recruitment 'back'.

It shows that the "baby", in this case the valuable operations manager, "is thrown with the bathwater", those who were made redundant during the consolidation process.

I cannot comment of the recent redundancy of Mr Hill from 6PR as I don't know enough about his case.

Thank you,
Anthony from suburb that once had the largest private telescope in the Southern Hemisphere, Belfield
Beers returns to 3AW as Nine performs an about face
Anthony The Koala
15 November 2019 - 9:10am
Elf Radio has been on air since early October!

Also Hope 103.2's Christmas pop-up DAB+ channel is also on the air. Based on listening experience, this station was on air for about another month after Christmas, going off air in February.

Thank you,
Anthony, from downtown Belfield
Elf Radio is back and gets a helping hand from Alexa
Aussiecam58
13 November 2019 - 9:04am
Simply put SCA have no answers and therefore it's easier to run a music breakfast show. Has SCA given up on 2Day FM?
Anthony The Koala
13 November 2019 - 2:34am
A brief comment on CW-Remix, the DAB ratings in Sydney, and branding.

First a comment on CW-Remix. I had reason to buy mouthwash at a local Chemist Warehouse. There was an absence of CW-Remix as part of its background music. This is in contrast to Coles Radio as the background music for its grocery stores.

Given that CW-Remix's audience is not measured in its stores, then what is the point of having CW-Remix especially when its general cumulative audience is not on par with the top ranking DAB+ stations?

Second, if we rank for example the cumulative radio audience in order from highest to lowest, we have the top five DAB+ stations for Sydney:
Ranking:
1. Edge Digital (cum audience 123)
2. ABC Jazz (cum audience 97)
3. KIIS 90s (cum audience 81)
4. WSFM 80s (cum audience 78)
5. Coles Radio (cum audience 71)

We can see that the former 2KA (783kHz), formerly 96.1-fm, and today Edge (96.1MHz), a station whose fm antenna is on top of the former 2KA's radio mast in Katoomba. In other words, a radio station for a market outside the Sydney Metropolitan Area is rating higher.

However, a caveat. Since the BOG does not participate in the Sydney ratings, there is no info on its DAB+ stations Gorilla and Dance to make a "reasonable" comparison.

Anyway, while Edge digital is the highest rating DAB+ station in Sydney, it is not so in the Melbourne, Adelaide and Brisbane markets.

Consequently, this leads into a general comment about markets. Taking into account that not all DAB+ services are the same in each market, we can see that the top ranking stations in each market are not same. We saw that Edge digital and ABC Jazz are top rating in Sydney but not in other markets. These stations are far from top ranking in the other markets.

In conclusion when it comes to branding, we cannot make the assumption that what works in Sydney will work in Melbourne.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Edge Digital is a clear leader in Sydney's DAB+ stations
Spanner
12 November 2019 - 4:17pm
Steve Price continues to drift south in Sydney ratings. Every survey a loss of listeners since switching to Afternoons. Wrong decision to attempt a move of Chris Smith and lose him altogether. Management needs to bite-the-bullet and get Chris Smith back. Analysis: Radio ratings survey 7 2019

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.