What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Murray Korff
4 November 2019 - 11:41am
It is not true to say that Gary Roberts has taken every radio network in Perth to number one. As talented as he may be, he can't claim that.
When Jack Bendat purchased PMFM and installed Roberts as MD, It was already number one and by a significant margin. It was handed to him on a plate. But why let the facts spoil a good story.
Gary Roberts knows Perth radio like the back of his hand
Anthony The Koala
4 November 2019 - 2:07am
My comment is mainly about local versus national.
When the Content Director ('CD') in 2012 took 96FM to the top of the ratings and management leaving the CD alone. It is obvious that the CD had a knowledge of the Perth market.

The ARN acquires 96FM and dismisses the CD. ARN is imposing its 'format' brand successfully implemented in the Eastern States. But since the CD's dismissal, the ratings for the 96FM station branded KIIS languishes.

LIke I said, management lives or dies by its decisions and the Perth version of KIIS's ratings fall.

The ARN could learn from McDonalds which is to have a menu implemented world-wide with local variations to the menu. For example, the "veggie pizza" works in in the Indian market but not in the US market, source https://www.businessinsider.com.au/mcdonalds-international-menu-items-2015-7?r=US&IR=T#mcdonalds-indias-veg-pizza-mcpuff-1 and https://awol.junkee.com/mcdonalds-menu-international-variation/68802

Thus one cannot assume that what works in one locale will work in another locale. The dismissed CD knew the Perth market the ARN didn't. The CD should have been kept!

Thank you,
Anthony of really exciting Belfield
Gary Roberts knows Perth radio like the back of his hand
SammyLea
1 November 2019 - 2:36pm
That's ok T K, the feeling is entirely mutual as people like you are also part of the problem because you don't see an issue with it. Why we still need Alan Jones
T K
1 November 2019 - 1:33pm
Well I have no trouble in admitting that I appreciate Alan's 'brand of radio'.
But I can do without Kyle ... and whingers INSULT REMOVED BY EDITOR
Why we still need Alan Jones
Anthony The Koala
31 October 2019 - 9:24pm
Here here!
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Why we still need Alan Jones
SammyLea
31 October 2019 - 9:19pm
I strongly disagree with your opinion piece. Alan Jones knows exactly what he is doing when he opens his mouth to and about people in the manner he does. You say foolish comments, I say he's too intelligent for that. Look at how he speaks on Q&A and compare that to 2GB. I'm not sure he's ever had to apologies for comments made on Q&A. Seems he can control himself on Q&A but not on his radio station.

And by golly has he oops, said something foolish and had to apologise on the radio. He's had to publicly apologise to a number of women now, among them, Jacinda Ardern, Gladys Berejiklian, Louise Herron and Julia Gillard. He's also had to apologise to men, I remember he called Malcolm Turnbull a traitor to the nation. He's been found guilty of defaming quite a number of people, the Wagner family, John Coates, Bill Harrigan and David Parker. He's been sued many times for defamation, found guilty of racial vilification, guilty of contempt of court of a children's criminal court case, he's breached the ACMA standards, and the list goes on.

No sorry. Most of us might make the odd foolish comment, that doesn't describe what Alan Jones does. I'd call what he does more like a cycle of abuse.

I even remember reading a story about his time as a teacher at Brisbane Grammar school. Nobody would let the journalist report on their names and in fact the majority of those interviewed remained anonymous because in their opinion, if you weren't 100% loyal to Alan, he would act like a bully, heckle you and make your life hell by their accounts.

Personally I've had enough of the man. In Alan's latest incident, the words he used about Jacinda were that he hoped our Prime Minister would backhand her and further, that he should shove a sock down her throat. Now that might be acceptable in your world, no judgement if that's what you like, but in Australia more than one woman per week is being killed by her significant other, over 50 of them this year already! The police are called to domestic violence incidents every two minutes and in my opinion Alan's words openly promote violence against women and there’s a direct link between talking about violence and actual violence.

Words from a former staff member of his... 'Alan seems to have a problem with women. He treats us like we have no business being in the workforce. His language is gutter level.'

The standard you walk by, is the standard you accept.

Why we still need Alan Jones
Elleygreen
30 October 2019 - 10:03pm
A great shame James. I enjoy, very much, reading your column and keeping au fait with the wonderful world of radio (which my wife ays I should have pursued, rather than TV!). Enjoy your days in the Aussie sun - although I cannot imagine you will be sitting around much. Goodbye, and keep listening
metrolink2
30 October 2019 - 9:55pm
As Melbourne already has two sports radio stations RSN 927 and SEN 1116 but SEN is a little confusing as they have former music station 3MP 1377 and 2 other DAB+ stations broadcasting the same content.
At the moment, Melbourne doesn't have a am music station any more.
As most stations are playing the same music content on FM and dab+, I would to suggest that Macquarie could bring back Magic 1278 as it was and on the Digital format why not try a beautiful music format simular to the old 3AK days of the 80s with a instrumental format including a beautiful music vocal format as well and the ratings will sky rocket for both the am format and the DAB+ format.
Remember when Channel 9 last had a radio station, it was 3AK beautiful music and that format made it to No.
Macquarie media and Nine entertainment, please consider.
Macquarie Sports Radio axes talkback and reviews all programs
Neil Francis
30 October 2019 - 8:33pm
That's a shame James. Columns will definitely be missed. Goodbye, and keep listening
madman
30 October 2019 - 11:28am
Having lost count of the number of times ownership has changed at 4BH, my bet is on MM divesting that station and possibly the other two; the cash injection would be more welcome than continued high costs and low ratings. Macquarie Sports Radio axes talkback and reviews all programs

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.