What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
David Smallwood
12 November 2018 - 8:57am
Hello, I'm David Smallwood. I wrote Herb Kent's autobiography, "The Cool Gent: The Nine Lives Of Radio Legend Herb Kent." I'm also the person who contacted Guinness and submitted all the paperwork that got Herb the Guinness Record for having the longest radio career by a DJ.

Now that Herb has passed, two years ago, it seems that Bob Rogers does now own that achievement. I'd be happy to assist anyone from Bob's camp in reaching out to Guinness to have him officially honored with that record. You can reach me at my digital publication's email: dsmallwood@ndigo.com. Thanks, and congratulations to Bob Rogers!
Bob Rogers sets a new radio world record
Secret Squid
10 November 2018 - 12:02am
If if only petrol prices were "continuing to skyrocket past $1 per litre....." River 94.9 FM’s Bowser Wowser
Neil Docherty
9 November 2018 - 5:33pm
What a fantastic effort Bob!!!!!
This could be an opportunity for Ron E Sparks to come out of retirement?
Trevor Sinclair.....Ronnie Sparks, they were great at 2SM in the hey days.....food for thought.
Bob Rogers hangs up the headphones
Fuzcapp
9 November 2018 - 1:05pm
Why does Australian radio management still do this kind of stuff? It's these sorts of things that give the radio industry an image of still being in the Stone Age. Mr. Rockhead Sylvester Nate Oscar George Slate would be proud ... Anne Stone marched out of FIVEaa
Fuzcapp
9 November 2018 - 1:01pm
As identified by Next Radio Conference research, reported here at RadioInfo [https://www.radioinfo.com.au/news/secrets-great-radio-creative] September 23, and at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=omRUliKooIA ... consistency across platforms was the NUMBER ONE factor in a successful campaign involving radio.

Here it is coming up again after Ralph and co were unable to find a single Australian campaign that had that consistency.

The question must be asked - is anyone listening?
Audio advertising in need of a shake-up: IAB MeasureUp Conference
Anthony The Koala
7 November 2018 - 3:46pm
The idea of integrating seamless automatic selection between the same radio station on both FM and DAB is not new.

Kenwood Europe sell a receiver with a "Seamless FM-DAB blending" https://www.kenwood.eu/car/navigation_multimedia/multimedia/DDX4015DAB/?view=details. While such radios have been available on the market, the above story extends this to automatic blending of FM, DAB and Internet streams with extensions to voice activated control.

Whether it is the Kenwood radio or the newest development, why aren't AM stations included in the seamless blend? In Australia both AM and FM stations simulcast on DAB. They also have internet streams. So why not have seamless blending amongst the AM, FM, DAB, IP Stream modes? It would make sense if one listens to a Sydney AM station in the country (say) and other modes DAB and IP stream are not available. Then when driving in the city, the radio switches seamlessly between AM, DAB and IP stream to whichever is available and the strongest.

Car safety is very important, especially when wanting to select the radio. It is indeed a hazard if one has to go through a series of joystick maneuvers as some prestige marques when one has to concentrate on the road!

Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Radioplayer unveils its prototype hybrid player
Anthony The Koala
2 November 2018 - 5:11pm
I have made comments about the low ratings that MSR, also known by the callsigns 2UE, 3EE and 4BH. Given MSR is a labour-intensive format one wonders how it will sustain economically.

Despite that, if one wants a station that comprehensively covers sport together with its companion website comprehensive with information, give it ago. There is a lot of coverage in November and the final survey 8 starts on the 4th of November and finishes on the 2nd of December.

Time will tell whether MSR's surge in comprehensive sports coverage will rate and whether the returns are profitable.

Regards
Anthony of Belfield
Macquarie Media is set for a big sporting November
addie
2 November 2018 - 2:41pm
Does this file exist?



EDITOR: Sorry, the story was migrated from our old site and the audio no longer exists on our site. Try contacting MediaHeads www.mediaheads.com.au
Christopher Reeve Remembered - FREE AUDIO
Anthony The Koala
30 October 2018 - 10:26am
Another apology. I muddled the 2nd last paragraph in my essay. It did not make sense. It should be:
"Nevertheless, the entity sponsoring a radio station must not be prospected by the radio station's officers as selling commercial time. On balance the ACMA may be correct in judging the radio station prospecting for commercials rather than sponsorship announcement."

Regards
Anthony of Belfield

Compliance essential but ACMA should not inhibit legitimate station operations: Jon Bisset
Anthony The Koala
30 October 2018 - 10:02am
Apologies. When I referred to Part 5 s9(1)(b) in my essay, I was referring to Part 5 s9(1)(b) of the Broadcast Services Act 1992 (Cth), amended in 2006.
Sorry,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Compliance essential but ACMA should not inhibit legitimate station operations: Jon Bisset

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.