What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Anthony The Koala
14 December 2020 - 11:52am
I fully concur with Mr St. John that most of the electricity consumption of an AM transmitter is in the carrier. Recall that a MW AM signal consists of the carrier and its upper and lower sidebands.

The AM carrier is transmitted in order for receivers with diode envelope detection. Diode envelope detection has been used as an envelope detector from simple crystal sets to most MW AM receivers.

If all AM receivers had a synchronous detector, there would be no need for the AM broadcaster to transmit the carrier. The broadcaster would save money on electricity consumption.

Unfortunately, "the toothpaste cannot be placed back in the tube" OR "you can't unscramble the egg". In this case, a broadcaster cannot suppress the carrier because no one will be able to receive AM broadcasts via an envelope detector.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Who said older radio listeners would have trouble finding digital platforms? Not 2CH!
BCOZ
14 December 2020 - 11:17am
If anything I would suggest older listeners (like myself) are more likely to be listening via DAB than younger people. Most times when I hear 4KQ in shops etc around Brisbane it's via DAB not AM. Yet operators like ARN just refuse to promote DAB - I just don't get it!!! Kudos to 2CH for actually promoting DAB. Who said older radio listeners would have trouble finding digital platforms? Not 2CH!
David
14 December 2020 - 5:58am
I suppose Ratner's product lacked integrity. His unprofessionalism tripped him and the media took the opportunity to have a field day. It's what the media does. Radio is more than cheap jewellery. Listeners invite radio personalities into their lives and into their minds. I have never met a content director satisfied with low brand quality, and that's the way it should be. Don’t Do a Gerald Ratner
Anthony The Koala
14 December 2020 - 5:19am
Mr Ratner said "We also do cut-glass sherry decanters complete with six glasses on a silver-plated tray that your butler can serve you drinks on, all for £4.95. People say, "How can you sell this for such a low price?", I say, "because it's total crap."

This was further aggravated by describing earrings' product's qualities and durability as " ....“cheaper than a Marks & Spencer prawn sandwich but probably wouldn’t last as long.”

Lesson:
Know the circumstances of what is written or said. Don't write or utter leading statements about the qualities of a product or service which consequentially lead to adverse conclusions whether true or untrue or trying to be funny.

Conclusion:
Doing a Ratner could well be described as auto-defamation, resulting in wide reporting of the event and possible misconstruing of the facts. Don't try to be funny about the quality of the product or service.

Application:
Broadcasters should not say "more crap all the time".

Thank you
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Don’t Do a Gerald Ratner
StJohn
14 December 2020 - 3:13am
Three years ago, Norway switched off all main network analog radio leaving only DAB+. It took a year for ratings to recover and now there are more listeners than ever.

2CH also has another advantage that they are no longer paying for an AM transmitter and its maintenance, depreciation and electricity consumption. Remember that more than half of the electricity consumed went to produce the AM carrier which contains no information at all. In DAB+ there is no carrier and one transmitter is sharing more than 18 programs.

Congratulations to 2CH on the conversion of the audience which proves we could switch off all AM and FM city wide transmitters in all capital cities now, saving not only a lot of money for broadcasters but in all states except Tasmania a big reduction in greenhouse gasses.
Who said older radio listeners would have trouble finding digital platforms? Not 2CH!
EDITOR
12 December 2020 - 9:57am
SammyLea,
Thanks for the Facebook link correction. We have changed the link.
My Last Word on Alan Jones
SammyLea
12 December 2020 - 2:18am
Those too precious witches had the right idea in my opinion. Great to see Fordhams not the same.

By the way the link in this story is incorrect, the MFW facebook page is here https://www.facebook.com/MFWitches
My Last Word on Alan Jones
Anthony The Koala
10 December 2020 - 8:01am
The author makes valid statements about contemporary music formats and greatest hits formats.

First, if you think about contemporary formats over the decades, one could describe them as CHR of their day. Top 40 radio formats of yore on 2UE, 2SM and 2UW were the CHR of their day. Particular tunes were in high rotation. The time window for playing past hits may have been limited to a decade.

SImilarly, the CHR formats of today will play only hits within a few years of their release. However, today's CHR is more than the rock and roll genre. These formats may consist of rock, dance, easy listening. Even with the diversity of genres, CHR may well consist of 'hits' released within the last few years. To illustrate, if we think of 2UW, MIX106.5 (callsign 2UFM) and KIIS106.5 (callsign 2UFM), apart from the time 2UW was momentarily a 'classic hits' format, the station (2UW, Mix and KIIS) was CHR: that is anything beyond a few years was 'discarded'. The same could be said about WS-FM, CHR with little 'classic hits'.

The artists on CHR may well be new or 'old' where the 'old' artist can perform new contemporary hits.

Even when there are new artists coming into the CHR, the formats don't allow for other genres. For example I have an album of music by the artists Emma Pask and Tom Burlinson accompanied by a big band, but don't hear that on mainstream radio. The same could be said about Josh Groban, Mark Vincent even Robbie Williams. It is ironic that these artists were given airtime on a spoken word station such as 2GB..

Second, when it comes to 'classic hits' "...their music universe is full of great timeless songs with excellent musicianship, discarding those one-off hits..." while hits in their own right. Unfortunately, some stations regards certain tunes and play them in high rotation.

There is nothing wrong with these artists and songs, I like them. But these narrow list of songs are not their only 'hits' Give these songs a rest and not play in high rotation.
* Bob Seeger, "Old Time Rock N' Roll"
* Creedence, "Proud Mary", why not play "Who'll Stop The Rain" or "Lodi" to name a few.
* John Cougar and variations to his name, "Cherry Bomb". It is not the only song from the album "The Lonesome Jubilee". Why not play "Paper in Fire"
* Phil Collins, "Sussudio", . Why not play "Two Hearts", or other songs at https://www.ilikeyouroldstuff.com/news/phil-collins-biggest-hits-in-australia
* James Blunt, "Beautiful" beautiful lyrics at the beginning, but the annoying repetition of "....you're beautiful..." with a C, A-min, F and G or equivalently transposed chords. Replace with Christine Aguillera's "Beautiful" - it is beautiful music.

Then you have to consider that just because the song is a 'classic hit' may be new to someone else of a similar demographic. I strongly doubt that people will remember all the hits of the listener's memory. Thus a 'classic hit' may well a new song.
Examples of hits with no airplay to name a few:
* Al Kooper and Stephen Stills, "It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry"
* Reparata, "Captain Of Your Ship"
* UK Beat, aka The Beat aka The English Beat, "Can't Get Used To Losing You"
* The Isley Brothers, "Behind A Painted Smile"
* The Delfonics, "Ready Or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide From Love)"
* Liv Maessen, "Snowbird", "Knock Knock, Who's There"
* Jeff St. John, "Teach Me How To Fly"
* Max Merritt with or without The Meteors, "Slipping Away", "Dirty Work", "Proud Mary", "Hush" (instrumental).
* The Strangers, "Mr President"
* Charles and Eddie, "Would I Lie To You"
* Karen Ramirez, "Looking For Love"
* David Guetta and Rihanna, "Who's That Chick"

These songs regardless of one's demographic may well be new to them.
Then even if they even if the songs were not hits, they sound good.

Thus the author is correct that "...Music Directors will need to be open to rediscovering old music...."

At the same, as I have mentioned before, there is a plethora of "classic hits/golden oldies/hits-and-memories" type stations.

By music directors rediscovering old music, may add variety to the "classic hits formats".

Furthermore, what has been missing from airplay are familiar songs from movie musicals. These songs may provide a sing-along break from the rest of the playlist. Even short classical pieces of four minutes from composers such Mozart, Chopin, Beethoven and Strauss to name a few would blend well with other music provided the music directors are not tone deaf.

A final note, my music tastes are neither CHR nor 'classic hits' nor 'classical music' nor jazz nor 'elevator music' (as the old 2CH). I have my own 'mix' of many genres on mp3 which are not satisfied by listening to a particular station. It's a variety of musicianship, rhythms and melodies.

It is rare for me to listen to music radio.

Thank you,
Anthony of critical Belfield

For me, I rarely listen to music radio since no station really satisfies my listening habits.
Music industry changes and the implications for radio programming
BCOZ
8 December 2020 - 11:40am
Congratulations 2CH. At least they are attempting to promote DAB+ unlike nearly every other radio company in Australia. Imagine if AM music stations 4KQ and Cruise actually PROMOTED DAB!! Both of these AM stations are doing well in their markets so why would they not promote the fact they are available on DAB???? It's so dumb. Analysis: Radio ratings survey 8 2020
David
8 December 2020 - 11:09am
2CH reminds me of 5AD's conversion to FM in the early 1990s. They simulcast on both AM and FM for twelve months or more with a long running campaign to migrate listeners to the new FM frequency. At the time they were told to end the simulcast by what was the ABA at the time, their share fell from the low to mid 30's to the mid 20's but they retained the number 1 position overall. Analysis: Radio ratings survey 8 2020

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 1996-2021. All Rights Reserved.