What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Anthony The Koala
23 December 2018 - 4:12pm
As a child in the early 1970s, I recall "Modern Motor" magazine produced a flexible 7" record about the new HQ holden. The record came with a detachable cover which included all the statistics about the car. When listening to the voice, I said to myself "that voice sounds familiar". Looking at the production credits, it mentioned Paul Ricketts as the narrator. The record had all the sound effects associated with a car starting and breaking, and seemed to use all the stock music that was used in advertising. The flexible record was produced by Ambassador Press.

About 20 years ago, there was an article about the anonymous voiceovers on radio and TV. To my surprise Mr Ricketts was really Dr Ricketts. Until a few years ago, Dr Ricketts was registered with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency ('AHPRA') who was awarded his medical degree in NZ but practised in Australia since 1962.

May he rest in peace.

Anthony of Belfield



Vale Paul Ricketts
Danny Smith Media
22 December 2018 - 2:01pm
Congratulations Steph Steph MacFie is Dave Noonan's new Anchor/EP
madman
21 December 2018 - 5:53pm
Any radio person couldn't help being inspired by Paul's voice. He was a broadcaster who possessed great talent. Paul is a significant loss to radio, television, and to medicine. Vale Paul Ricketts
Blondie
20 December 2018 - 12:03pm
I HATE what Macquarie have done to 2UE. They've lost a huge number of listeners. As my local pharmacist said, there's nothing to listen to any longer. So it was goodbye 2UE and hello FM.

What makes my blood boil is 2UE hasn't even the courtesy to maintain the Lifestyle website. Many of us would love to download old podcasts and listen to them at least.

So typical of modern-day business practice. No consultation with the very listeners who supported the station; just slash and burn.

As for 2GB, it's attempts to coax back listeners by re-introducing SOME of the old favs such as Simon Stevenson - well, it's a drop in the ocean.

I hope there's an entrepreneur out there who will gather the former presenters together and launch a new Lifestyle station.
Talking Lifestyle dropped for sports format at 2UE
Anthony The Koala
18 December 2018 - 12:04pm
The ratings analysis for MSR in the last paragraph sums it all. In Sydney, MRS (2UE) was heavily promoted before and during Survey 8's measuring period especially for its cricket broadcasts, it beat Sky (2KY). The Melbourne and Brisbane ratings with a 50% drop and 50% increase respectively appear to be unremarkable. Even with Sydney's rating leading, will they increase in audience share with their heavy such that MSR's business model is self-sustaining. Remember that MSR is labour-intensive with its experienced commentators (as broadcasters and former champions)
Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Analysis: radio ratings survey 8 2018
ceejay
17 December 2018 - 9:56am
I'm offended by your use of the US spelling "offense" in Australia. Ban it at once! How to find offense on the radio without really trying
Anthony The Koala
14 December 2018 - 2:06pm
Even if the music on high rotation is great, please oh please no more high rotations such as selections from "Brothers In Arms" especially "Sultans of Swing", "Old Time Rock 'n' Roll", "Walking On Sunshine", "Maggie May" and "Sacrifice".

While I like these songs, there is more to classic hits than the above described.

Anthony of exciting Belfield
Changes at GOLD and WSFM
T K
10 December 2018 - 1:26pm
Ah, finally ... the end of Em Rusciano!

But why did it take SO long?

And WHY does it take so MANY people to make a (potentially) successful breakfast show? Talk about overkill!

Well as least that annoying female is gone.

Ash London moves into permanent breakfast role at 2Day
johnnyb
4 December 2018 - 3:10pm
I wonder whether we have created some sort of record out here in the Hawkesbury???

As of today, ACMA has issued FOUR temporary broadcast licences to FOUR different community groups. They all share the same 89.9FM frequency, and ACMA has sliced the week into FOUR time slots; each group being awarded a day or two here and there. The air is electric with the sound of transmitters sizzling and crackling, keeping us awake at night, as one group shuts down transmission and another cranks up.

Each group issues breathless press releases, claiming undying allegiance and support from 99% of the local community, while Presenters get tossed to the lions every time there's a schedule change.

Station sponsors aren't too sure who's advertising what and when; the net effect (I suspect) is that total advertising revenue has fallen faster than a dead frog in the Hawkesbury River.

Complaints, accusations, lies and devious intrigues are not uncommon,,,,

I JUST LOVE COMMUNITY RADIO!!!!

Hawkesbury Radio, who were one of only two community stations to lose their licence in 2017, keep posting messages on their web page that scream "we are not dead". (No one wants to tell them.)

May the temporary licences last forever, may the entertainment never cease.
Windsor-Hawkesbury Community Radio hopes for more air time as ACMA decision looms
Steve Ahern
3 December 2018 - 9:01am
Thanks for the shout out Pete!

I am just leaving Casablanca now in fact.
Next stop Singapore then Kuala Lumpur.

Watch out for a big announcement for the Asia Pacific radio industry on Thut from KL.

Steve
Australian radio's talent drain

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.