What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
CJ
11 August 2011 - 4:30am
Maybe radio just isn't seen as cool anymore. Young people these days have other career aspirations, and whilst radio is hard work, yet very satisfying when the results arrive...Gen Y has a different attitude than that of earlier generations and on the main don't want to commit to something that may intrude on their social time..or involve hard yards. How many Gen Y (and some older) jocks these days don't give a rats about the team or station, and are just out to cut a deal that only benefits themselves...eg, trying to get off working weekends or not assisting in the heavy lifting that goes on behind the scenes....they will come in late..go home early..goof off when in the building...whine a lot..and barely notice the hard pressed MD or so on doing a 14 hour day. There are some great Gen Y's around though...and in the right culture that demands accountability they can rise to the occasion...however, in weak cultures...they will often run a-muck...and get away with it! Where have all the real radio people gone?
Stephan Kent
10 August 2011 - 4:30am
Phil has hit the nail on the head - I have had a similar situation recently, I have had applications from the USA 2 from the Philippines and 3 from Germany, certainly my station isn't as remote as Darwin however - no one seems to want to move from the cities or anywhere for that matter. Maybe it has something to do with our craft being sold short and the long line of non radio personalities who are chased for figures rather than commitment.

I remember in the day working 6 days a week and of course on your day off having to do a promo ob or something similar - it was the business and we loved it.

Maybe stations where ever we are should look more long term rather than a stepping stone - I have noticed the trend to put it out that "Come work for us as a stepping stone to something better - because our last man has gone onto better things"

Darwin is one of the most dynamic places in this country - I know I have done that all the way from Perth as a mere 19 year old - it was just a cyclone that moved me on - I was committed to a station that was committed to its audience and city. I worked with a crew that many had been there for 6,7 8 years. We had to work 6 days a week and often a 7th because some one slipped in the mud a Fanny Bay - but then as now we do it because we love the craft the mystery of radio.

Real Radio People - Radio needs you again - come out come out where ever you are - long bring you tomorrow.
Where have all the real radio people gone?
Ian Holland
10 August 2011 - 4:30am
Phil,

You are so right. The attitude of young people today has made finding good new staff who have ambition and want to learn, incredibly difficult. As a rule, they don't want to work hard, they don't want to work nights or weekends and they expect a salary similar to that of the Chief Executive. They're not all like that, but many, regrettably, are.

I work with a remarkably successful team of on air people. They all work massively long hours to achieve what they do. Yet when I advertise for staff to assist these outstanding broadcasters I get demands even before the interview has started.

Recently I interviewed a 24 year old university graduate with no work experience who told me straight out, 'I won't be working for you for less than 120K. I know what you pay people at radio stations like this.' When I advised this girl that in fact, she wouldn't be working for me at all, she told me she was going to complain to somebody about my attitude! These days this sort of mind-set appears to be the norm. It's really quite sad.

When most candidates arrive for an interview I generally ask them for a description of our 2 Sydney stations. More often than not they don't know we operate 2 stations. They can't tell me anything about the on air line ups. They haven't bothered to look at our web sites. Because of these things alone, they will never work for me. When I explain that to them, they rarely seem to understand!

Getting my first job in radio on a salary of $27 a week was like a dream come true. Working in this industry now, after many years of moving around, getting fired, working wierd and socially unacceptable hours, cleaning the kitchen, wrtiting copy, working at OB's in freezing conditions and so on, it's still a dream come true. I love this business.

Anyone who's worked in this business for more than a couple of years is probably infected by the bug, however these days finding people who dream the dream to come and work in radio is a massive challenge. Today, radio seems to be regarded as just another job, rather than the realization of a goal that few will ever experience.

But take heart Phil They are out there. It's just another challenge.
Where have all the real radio people gone?
Jack Jericho
29 July 2011 - 4:30am
Congratulations Cactus!

I can remember back in the 90's in production at 5MU I always couldn't wait to get the next lot of Cactus to dub to cart.

I didn't even know you're still producing it... I've got a lot of catching up to do!

Well deserved success.

Jaki J - Fresh FM Adelaide
Cactus reaches landmark 5000th episode
The Shadow
29 July 2011 - 4:30am
Spin themselves silly at Sandgate - “it is very rewarding to see John Laws win the mornings. Our on-air teams at both stations are really connecting with the Newcastle community and listener reaction is fantastic”.

Super Radio Network Chairman Bill Caralis added “once again we are ecstatic with this result"

If going from 14 to 11.5 and 8.7 to 7.6 is "ecstatic" and "fantastic" then you're mad. Try "irrelevant".
NXFM wins first place in Newcastle Survey 2
Dom Evans
28 July 2011 - 4:30am
there's a typo in the last line Todd Campbell leaves Nova 100
Chuckles
28 July 2011 - 4:30am
Gary Shannon must be laughing his bottom off... Ugly Phil resigns from 96fm breakfast show
Leon Delaney
19 July 2011 - 4:30am
At the end of 1984, I was living in Melbourne and used to listen to Ray on 3AW (so I think the date in the article may be wrong). No matter what else I did in the day, I had to listen to Ray in the evening, straight after Mark Day's drive show. Forget about watching the 6 o'clock news on TV, Rave with Ray was the number one priority. On one occasion I rang in to the program doing a Bob Hawke impersonation. I can't remember what I said, but we had tremendous fun for the couple of minutes I was on air with him. I never had the pleasure of meeting him, but I have never forgotten his incredible talent, wicked wit, and good humour on air. Ray was a great entertainer and is sadly missed in the dour world of modern media...
Vale Ray Taylor: Never pulled a shift, always presented a show
Interested reader
13 July 2011 - 4:30am
This looks like another letter drafted by a member of Radio National staff.
The station, like any station, needs constant review and updating. I don't agree with the view that the quality has deteriorated and for my personal taste too much religion remains on the network. But then, the network shouldn’t just cater for me, nor should they design programs purely for old people. I am one. I have been downloading podcasts for 5 years. It is my preferred way to listen.
Just let them get on with it ...and start sounding like a "friend" like you claim to be.. Keep an open mind and trust them. Worry about Rupert.
Review should not threaten RN quality: Friends of ABC
Stuart Endersby
11 July 2011 - 4:30am
All the best my friend. You will be off the red wine for sometime :( hope all goes well with the operation. Regards Stu Endersby. Top news reader to undergo heart surgery

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.