What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Jason Shaw
9 August 2010 - 4:30am
That's Good News about Digital Radio. I have 2 Digital Radio's at home. The Iriver B30 is great as it shows pictures & song info on the main screen & in colour. Half a million people listening to digital radio after one year
Jason Shaw
9 August 2010 - 4:30am
That's Good News about Digital Radio. I have 2 Digital Radio's at home. The Iriver B30 is great as it shows pictures & song info on the main screen & in colour. Half a million people listening to digital radio after one year
David Turrell
30 July 2010 - 4:30am
It is clear that ACMA are very confused as to the difference between a "not-for-profit" entity and making a surplus.
In every Australian state it is clear that there is a difference between making a profit i.e. an amount of surplus funds distributed to individuals who hold an pecuniary interest in an entity and "making a surplus" which is used for the ongoing growth and well being of an organisation, i.e. held over by the organisation.
To set up a not-for-profit entity, you need to have a not-for-proft clause in your constitution. If ACMA licences stations knowing there is a not-for-profit clause then as long as stations operate within the bounds of the clause it is actually none of their business how a board conducts its affairs.
The guidelines also suggest that paying large salaries (what's large by the way??) is a means of distributing surpluses. Interesting thought, I wonder what the industrial relations commission would think about this assertion?
There seems to be an underlying assumption that holding a community licence means that you need to NOT be successful in any way, you need to pay low wages, don't employ any sales staff and struggle in every way possible.
I don't think this issue is going to go away quietly.
How much surplus is too much? Draft not-for-profit guidelines released
SherlockHolmey
23 July 2010 - 4:30am
Yeah - this is the "first in Australia to fully integrate with leading social media juggernauts, Twitter and Facebook."
Whatever.
Have you heard of the internets? It's this new thing, with stuff and that.
ARN launches smart phone radio aps
Katrina Roe
16 July 2010 - 4:30am
A great story and good to hear Kayley's perspectives down the track. Balancing radio work with motherhood is never easy. I took 3.5 years off and am only just now back at work - in a maternity leave position. Thanks Kayley for sharing your experiences with us all. On Air Mums: a ratings boost but hard work
Ian Stewart Cousins
10 July 2010 - 4:30am
Great news for Graham and only the best wishes for the future.. Ian Cousins. Graham Mott clear of cancer
Shane Hurford
8 July 2010 - 4:30am
oh that is so sad...
I was one of Clark's students and he was passionate about radio and helping potential stars reach for the skies and was instrumental in launching many radio careers including mine.
A very smart, very talented broadcaster.
He once told me that he became absolutley determined to find a career in radio when he was told that due to his vision, he would never make it in the industry.
He showed 'em alright.
I'm sure you'll find "Remember When" was on air until at least 1989 or 1990 as I was a producer for Clark and Neville for that show in its last year of broadcast.
Clark will be sadly missed.
Veteran announcer and mentor Clark Sinclair will be missed
Dave Smith
8 July 2010 - 4:30am
At Last some good news for Motty ,No shortage of positive thoughts going your way,All the very best in your recovery.
Cheers,
Dave Smith
Graham Mott clear of cancer
Steve Adermann
7 July 2010 - 4:30am
If the M's target demographic is Male 25-54, it's working a treat - I love it! See, hear as Slash revives Dr Dan
Matt F
5 July 2010 - 4:30am
I only recently found out about Gordon's death via Radioinfo.
Having worked with Gordon at 2MCR between 1998 - 2005, he helped educate myself and other members about radio, warned me of the politics, and also stirred the pot a little, just to keep others on their toes. It's spooky for me as I had only spoken on the phone to him about 3 days beforehand, which he seemed fine.

Thanks for your help Gordon. Say hi to Lucy for me!
Vale Gordon Rothery

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.