What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
ACACIAN
3 August 2019 - 9:23am
Geraldine Doogue on ABC RN's Saturday Extra (03AUG19) had a discussion of the Witness K/Collaery persecution and the very valid point was made that K followed every procedure laid down in the weak-as-water Dreyfus Public Information disclosure Act plus went through the extra hoops to which an intelligence officer is subject.
And still two governments, of allegedly different persuasions, have gone after K and his lawyer.
It should show the public that, once unfettered, the spooks cannot be expected to follow the Law or due process.
Senator Rex Patrick also made the point that the length of time taken to resolve this matter is a breach of the requirement that the Federal government should always be the "ideal litigant".
Justice delayed is justice denied - as with K, the Kessing case took almost 3 years to come to trial when the value of the disclosures had slipped from public reference, despite the $200M updates to airport security.
Our country is a better place because of journalists and whistleblowers: Andrew Wilkie MP
Anthony The Koala
1 August 2019 - 1:54pm
Two articles at https://internationalpodcastday.com/podcasting-history/ and https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Podcast give a history of podcasting starting in 2004 with the invention of the podcasting method and the early adopters of podcasting.

But according to the ABC, https://www.abc.net.au/technology/techexplained/articles/2011/04/11/3158016.htm (copy from "https" to ".htm" and paste in browser), podcasts or rather downloadable digital audio files have been available since 1999. Podcasts have been provided by diverse sources before being adopted by broadcasters.

The ABC has been an early adopter of podcasting since the early 2000s long before being adopted by the commercial broadcasting sector.

While anyone with a computer, audio software and microphone can make a podcast, a podcast's popularity depends on (a) the quality of the content and (b) a 'popular' distribution point such as the ABC, a particular broadcaster's site or iTunes. The list is not exhaustible.

Given the diverse sources of podcast producers, my question to the author of this article and/or the editor is how were statistics compiled for the number of podcasts in Australia for the 2014 to 2018 period?

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield


EDITOR: Thanks exciting Anthony, we always love your comments! The Roy Morgan research is from qualitative face to face interviews, not downloads, so the methodology is different. A Roy Morgan explanation paragraph says:

Research conducted directly with real people is qualitatively and quantitatively more valuable than information drawn only through automated processes from web browsers and complicated algorithms. It’s the only way to learn how many real people – not bots, devices, clicks, or impressions – visit a site. These are the latest results from Roy Morgan Single Source derived from in-depth face-to-face interviews with 1,000 Australians each week, 50,000 each year.
Podcasts growing in popularity in Australia
Sandra
31 July 2019 - 9:49pm
Have turned price and Stefanovic off I hate them both I now switch off at 12.
Karl takes over from Steve Price
Anthony The Koala
29 July 2019 - 8:38am
Two remarks: One on the afternoon shift and its probable success and the other on 'shock jocks'

First, I have said on this site about the decision by management to remove Chris Smith from 2GB despite 90+ successive ratings wins was warped. I still stand by that.

At the same time, I also said in the same post that swapping evening shifts with the afternoon shifts may still work. Furthermore I said that radical changes to programming styles is a "two edged sword" and the decision as to the success or failure rests on management.

Having said that, I have listened to the Steve Price program during his permanent shift from 2000-0000 and am listening to his Mon-Fri show between 1200-1500 and while he temporarily substitutes for the breakfast shift between 0530-0900. I also acknowledge the fine job performed by John Stanley during the radio shift version of "musical chairs" during the absence of the breakfast presenter 0530-0900 and/or morning shift presenter 0900-1200 and/or the early evening 'money' show 1800-2000 and/or late evening shift 2000-0000.

Steve Price, John Stanley and Chris Smith have their fingers on the pulse on what is newsy and what may be future news stories. They all have the gut instinct on whether political issues will sustain or whither.

Therefore on balance, Steve Price may well sustain the ratings of the afternoon shift formerly held by Chris Smith. Wait for the ratings results.

Second, a remark about the word "shock jock". I don't believe that any former or current presenter on 2GB would be regarded as a shock jock. I could illustrate shock jock examples on other stations: a fake impression of a member of the Royal Family enquiring about the birth of her relative, a person impersonating an educational authority telling a top ranking HSC graduate that her ATAR mark was lower. Then we have a music presenter intruding into the sexual lives of news readers. Then in the US there is Alex Jones who makes extraordinary claims about the cause of massacres in the US. This is the provocative and UNACCEPTABLE material of a shock jock. Neither of which has or is occurring on 2GB.

Thank you,
Anthony, of exciting, dynamic and downtown Belfield
After 7 years in darkness, Steve Price sees the light
Bill Keats
28 July 2019 - 7:26pm
For a short time, maybe 40 years back now, Bruce acted as NSW Manager ABC Radio. His office was in the Studio complex in upper Forbes Street Darlinghurst. The area was home to many persons who found themselves at the bottom of society. Prostitution evident almost outside the ABC doors and occasionally, some of the down-and-outs would have “picnics” in the Carpark.
Bruce knew the management at the Mathew Talbot Hostel. Contacts he had made through his career in Politics. Outside his office, he set up a collection station for second hand clothes to be taken to The Talbot. A colleague suggested the idea could be taken a little further. Why not have a simple salary deduction scheme put in place. He thought this was a great idea. I remember his catch phrase “For the price of a packet of cigarettes, you could help someone get a bed for the night.”
Within a month the ABC Care Club was introduced to staff.
To kick the scheme off, Bruce organised an information talk that was held in the canteen of 164 William Street. (A floor or two above the Newsroom) Bruce brought along two of his good mates to help create interest. These being Syd Einfeld and Tedd Noffs. Both larger than life personalities with insightful stories from the area. The CC took a year to get fully operational becoming a registered charity. In fact it was a collection point for charities. The recipients being voted for by the contributors.
Many years later that Care Club morphed into the current Work Place Giving Scheme supporting many charities Australia wide. Thirty years after the Care Clubs inception, ABC staff had raised over $1 Million for charity. All gathered and run by volunteers at no cost to the organisation.
A lot of cigarettes there Bruce old mate…
VALE good friend and colleague
Bruce Webster: Funeral Details and tribute by Alan Marks
Tributes from Facebook
28 July 2019 - 12:47pm
Les Thompson
I remember him from his brief tenure as news director at 2UE. He threw a great party to get to know us at his home on the Northern Beaches. Nice guy!


Robert Kinny
Fond memories of working with Bruce in the late '70s when he was news director at 2UE, in the mid-80s when he was voicing for the ABC in the Reps and Senate booths and at the Barcelona Olympics in '92.


Nick Weare
i was working with Bruce in Canberra for the popes visit. he was describing the pope getting out of the plane and as the pope appeared Bruce said with very trembling and excited vooice...."OOOOHH THE HOLY FATHER"....


Tim Gavel
A great mentor of mine and many others VIP Bruce


Barry Casey
Vale Bruce. Enjoyed very much working with you.


Bruce Webster: Funeral Details and tribute by Alan Marks
SusanneGervay
28 July 2019 - 8:33am
Bruce Webster represents the best in Australian life - thankyou for your service. Vale Bruce Webster: last interview AUDIO
Radio chicky
28 July 2019 - 8:15am
#powercouple
Sound great together on air. Undeniable (breakfast show) chemistry from the start. Obviously their connection translated to on air from the off air connection, but sound amazing individually as well as a team. Great banter. This union is a winning 1. Hope to be invited to the wedding. Love ur show (on radio) and in life! Keep kicking goals u fab duo!!!
Two years onair for Red FM’s Alana and Robbie
dwynter
26 July 2019 - 11:38am
The world has lost a great broadcaster and I have lost a great mate!

When I moved from commercial radio to the ABC in Radio Operations, one of the first people I really “clicked’ with was Bruce Webster. He was so easy to work with – reading National News I would play in the tape (yes tape) inserts. At the end of each bulletin he would always come out to the Control Room and say “Thank You”, which no one else ever did.

He had a great interest in Sport and I often used to panel him on “Sporting Panel” which went for about seven hours on a Saturday. Many times I panelled him on all Networks where he could change his style instinctively to match.

We developed Nicknames for each other (neither of which I am going to repeat here) and started to socialise outside.
We learnt to fly at roughly the same time, another passion we both shared.
We worked together overseas on both Olympic and Commonwealth Games where anything could go wrong and often did. Bruce could just pick up the pieces and run with them, even if he had to ad-lib for ten minutes!
Our outside friendship grew, and we met with great broadcasters such as Alan Marks and Gerry Collins for a long lunch at the Mooney Mooney Club, an event Bruce loved through having been “Broken Bay Coastal Patrol Division Commander”. Any chance for Bruce to be on the water was eagerly snapped up. We emailed each other constantly with jokes and other funnies.

His beloved wife Pat to this day remains probably one of the strongest supporting people I have ever met and she was naturally with Bruce when we lost him.

Vale Bruce Laurence Webster, you made this world a greater place!!!

David Wynter, Chatswood NSW.
Vale Bruce Webster: last interview AUDIO
Al D
26 July 2019 - 12:00am
The plural of forum is fora but maybe Ray, you didn't know that? Hadley faces legal action from former staff member

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.