What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
DJ Cazzah (Vic Local News)
23 October 2018 - 5:18pm
You guys may not know but Kool Digital and Aussie Digital on DAB+ in Melbourne have been rebranded to SEN2 and SEN3! Another petition has been started https://www.change.org/p/craig-hutchinson-bring-back-kool-digital-aussie-digital-on-dab SEN SA is on the way
Anthony The Koala
9 October 2018 - 8:38am
Sampled the 'signal' from the webpage in Sydney. The signal is CD quality. I wonder why a Newcastle station is using a callsign of a former Sydney Station, even the logos from the 1970s.

Two further remarks on 2UW and the "classic hits formats".

One, will the "New 2UW" have religious programming on Sunday nights? One of the pioneers of religious radio talk back was the late Fr Jim McLaren. He we so competent as a broadcaster that he filled in for John Laws. During the 1970s and 1980s, nearly every station in Sydney had religious programming: 2UE from St Andrew's Cathedral, 2CH with Roger Bush, 2UW with Fr Jim and 2SM with a live Mass. Now Sydney is lucky to have Bill Crews on 2GB and Kel Richards on 2CH.

Two, the new 2UW's music repertoire is from the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s. I like the music from that era too. I also like music from the 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, 1990s, the 1800s and today. I could describe my music tastes as dial twiddling. The station is marketing a 1960s-1980s music format to a particular age group rather than the general population who like 1960s-1980s.

The problem I see with targeting an audience for a particular age group rather than a group of people liking music of the 1960s-1980s is that when a particular age group gets older and diminishes, the market for a particular age group declines.

That is why I have a problem with a golden oldies/classic hits format and its variants. I have said elsewhere that Sydney is already saturated with "Classic Hits" type formats, beit from Smooth, 2CH, 2WS, Coles, Fun, Zoo. What happens in 20 years time? Will the stations including the new 2UW have a "Classic Hits" of 1990s, 2000s, 2010s. Will it be easy-listening techno and electronica?

Something to think about in regards to the dynamic nature of programming especially where it is targeted for a particular age group and associating it with a particular era.

Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield (Sydney)


The new2uw begins broadcasting in Newcastle
maher
7 October 2018 - 9:33am
@allan Jones shame on you for bullying. you do not represent me . you are a bigget Alan Jones has a win against Opera House CEO's horse race policy
madman
5 October 2018 - 3:14pm
Sydney History has been made! Never thought we'd see the day when 2KY (SKY) out rates 2UE.
Brisbane - please put 4BH out of it's misery - where is the next buyer ?
Radio ratings survey 6: 2GB powers ahead, Nova back on top in Brisbane
Archibald
5 October 2018 - 7:02am
Great idea but take a couple of bucks back out of the fund and give ABC Sydney it’s own local or statewide afternoon show back with more varied interesting intelligent content. Bad call that one. Looks like someone in Melbourne is calling the shots on programming. ABC $1 million fund supports Australia's best and brightest audio storytellers
Anthony The Koala
4 October 2018 - 10:37am
The ratings for MSR via 2UE, 3EE and 4BH would have to be the lowest since broadcasting history. What was encouraging for 4BH rating at 1.1 and 1.0 in the previous two surveys appear to be a statistical anomaly. All stations seemed to have a maximum rating of 0.5 (2UE) with the Melbourne and Brisbane markets rating at 0.4.

As mentioned before in my analysis, I am not privvy to the revenues for MSR. The question is whether the MSR stations can be self-sustaining.

Regards
Anthony of Belfield
Radio ratings survey 6: 2GB powers ahead, Nova back on top in Brisbane
Anthony The Koala
4 October 2018 - 10:25am
I wish to comment briefly on one aspect of the article, on RDS and text services broadcast via FM and DAB+.

Both RDS on FM and text display on DAB+ apart from displaying addional station ID, song now/later, weather and news bites could well be opportune for running advertisements and competitions.

Most radios have a one line text display and have a slow-running text display and the rate of display of text cannot be adjusted. Are potential customers willing to wait to read an advertisement.

In the case of DAB+ there are not many receivers with an elaborate colour display which may be conducive for monetisation of running text services. However, there is an Australian-designed DAB evaluation kit made by "6th logic dab evaluation board made by "6th Logic". Google search terms "6th Logic", dab, evaluation kit.

Unfortunately it requires knowledge of electronics and radios with elaborate displays appear to be few and far.

Therefore unless there is some kind of incentive such as competitions for prizes in order for people to watch the text display and unless some other information such as news and weather are deleted because of the slow scrolling speed, there is the risk that the 'running text' display may be 'blocked' by switching to display mode of time, signal strength and date.

Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Why are you in radio anyway?
Anthony The Koala
2 October 2018 - 10:40am
Both RDS on FM and text display on DAB+ apart from displaying addional station ID, song now/later, weather and news bites could well be opportune for running advertisements and competitions.

Most radios have a one line text display and have a slow-running text display and the rate of display of text cannot be adjusted. Are potential customers willing to wait to read an advertisement.

In the case of DAB+ there are not many receivers with an elaborate colour display which may be conducive for monetisation of running text services. There is an Australian-designed kit https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DAB-FM-Digital-Radio-Development-Board-Pro-/142016258850.
Unfortunately it requires knowledge of electronics and radios with elaborate displays appear to be few and far.

Therefore unless there is some kind of incentive such as competitions for prizes in order for people to watch the text display, there is the risk that the 'running text' display may be 'blocked' by switching to display mode of time, signal strength and date.

Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Why are you in radio anyway?
Fuzcapp
28 September 2018 - 11:48am
Deformation action?
Really?

When all else fails... blame it on spellcheck. Fixed now. - Ed
The Pulse and Darren Lyons settle their differences
Fuzcapp
24 September 2018 - 10:36am
Could someone please tell clients?

Oh and those CFOs and COOs who keep chopping resources into creatve?
Secrets of great radio creative

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.