What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Anthony The Koala
10 December 2020 - 8:01am
The author makes valid statements about contemporary music formats and greatest hits formats.

First, if you think about contemporary formats over the decades, one could describe them as CHR of their day. Top 40 radio formats of yore on 2UE, 2SM and 2UW were the CHR of their day. Particular tunes were in high rotation. The time window for playing past hits may have been limited to a decade.

SImilarly, the CHR formats of today will play only hits within a few years of their release. However, today's CHR is more than the rock and roll genre. These formats may consist of rock, dance, easy listening. Even with the diversity of genres, CHR may well consist of 'hits' released within the last few years. To illustrate, if we think of 2UW, MIX106.5 (callsign 2UFM) and KIIS106.5 (callsign 2UFM), apart from the time 2UW was momentarily a 'classic hits' format, the station (2UW, Mix and KIIS) was CHR: that is anything beyond a few years was 'discarded'. The same could be said about WS-FM, CHR with little 'classic hits'.

The artists on CHR may well be new or 'old' where the 'old' artist can perform new contemporary hits.

Even when there are new artists coming into the CHR, the formats don't allow for other genres. For example I have an album of music by the artists Emma Pask and Tom Burlinson accompanied by a big band, but don't hear that on mainstream radio. The same could be said about Josh Groban, Mark Vincent even Robbie Williams. It is ironic that these artists were given airtime on a spoken word station such as 2GB..

Second, when it comes to 'classic hits' "...their music universe is full of great timeless songs with excellent musicianship, discarding those one-off hits..." while hits in their own right. Unfortunately, some stations regards certain tunes and play them in high rotation.

There is nothing wrong with these artists and songs, I like them. But these narrow list of songs are not their only 'hits' Give these songs a rest and not play in high rotation.
* Bob Seeger, "Old Time Rock N' Roll"
* Creedence, "Proud Mary", why not play "Who'll Stop The Rain" or "Lodi" to name a few.
* John Cougar and variations to his name, "Cherry Bomb". It is not the only song from the album "The Lonesome Jubilee". Why not play "Paper in Fire"
* Phil Collins, "Sussudio", . Why not play "Two Hearts", or other songs at https://www.ilikeyouroldstuff.com/news/phil-collins-biggest-hits-in-australia
* James Blunt, "Beautiful" beautiful lyrics at the beginning, but the annoying repetition of "....you're beautiful..." with a C, A-min, F and G or equivalently transposed chords. Replace with Christine Aguillera's "Beautiful" - it is beautiful music.

Then you have to consider that just because the song is a 'classic hit' may be new to someone else of a similar demographic. I strongly doubt that people will remember all the hits of the listener's memory. Thus a 'classic hit' may well a new song.
Examples of hits with no airplay to name a few:
* Al Kooper and Stephen Stills, "It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry"
* Reparata, "Captain Of Your Ship"
* UK Beat, aka The Beat aka The English Beat, "Can't Get Used To Losing You"
* The Isley Brothers, "Behind A Painted Smile"
* The Delfonics, "Ready Or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide From Love)"
* Liv Maessen, "Snowbird", "Knock Knock, Who's There"
* Jeff St. John, "Teach Me How To Fly"
* Max Merritt with or without The Meteors, "Slipping Away", "Dirty Work", "Proud Mary", "Hush" (instrumental).
* The Strangers, "Mr President"
* Charles and Eddie, "Would I Lie To You"
* Karen Ramirez, "Looking For Love"
* David Guetta and Rihanna, "Who's That Chick"

These songs regardless of one's demographic may well be new to them.
Then even if they even if the songs were not hits, they sound good.

Thus the author is correct that "...Music Directors will need to be open to rediscovering old music...."

At the same, as I have mentioned before, there is a plethora of "classic hits/golden oldies/hits-and-memories" type stations.

By music directors rediscovering old music, may add variety to the "classic hits formats".

Furthermore, what has been missing from airplay are familiar songs from movie musicals. These songs may provide a sing-along break from the rest of the playlist. Even short classical pieces of four minutes from composers such Mozart, Chopin, Beethoven and Strauss to name a few would blend well with other music provided the music directors are not tone deaf.

A final note, my music tastes are neither CHR nor 'classic hits' nor 'classical music' nor jazz nor 'elevator music' (as the old 2CH). I have my own 'mix' of many genres on mp3 which are not satisfied by listening to a particular station. It's a variety of musicianship, rhythms and melodies.

It is rare for me to listen to music radio.

Thank you,
Anthony of critical Belfield

For me, I rarely listen to music radio since no station really satisfies my listening habits.
Music industry changes and the implications for radio programming
BCOZ
8 December 2020 - 11:40am
Congratulations 2CH. At least they are attempting to promote DAB+ unlike nearly every other radio company in Australia. Imagine if AM music stations 4KQ and Cruise actually PROMOTED DAB!! Both of these AM stations are doing well in their markets so why would they not promote the fact they are available on DAB???? It's so dumb. Analysis: Radio ratings survey 8 2020
David
8 December 2020 - 11:09am
2CH reminds me of 5AD's conversion to FM in the early 1990s. They simulcast on both AM and FM for twelve months or more with a long running campaign to migrate listeners to the new FM frequency. At the time they were told to end the simulcast by what was the ABA at the time, their share fell from the low to mid 30's to the mid 20's but they retained the number 1 position overall. Analysis: Radio ratings survey 8 2020
Anthony The Koala
8 December 2020 - 9:25am
Based on the results at https://www.gfk.com/hubfs/ANZ%20MEDIA/AU/Metro%20Survey%20Summary%20Reports/2020/Survey%208/GfK_Summary%20Report%20Sydney_Survey%208%202020.pdf?hsLang=en , here is the summary.

2CH - the move from AM to DAB+ only. It is the top rating DAB+ station. Calculating it's cumes, 101/691*100 = 14%. Perhaps the highest rating compared to 5% when it was an AM-only station.

2GB - the market leader. Ben on 17.1% on his own right. The rest of the ratings, management called it correctly. Deborah Knight is registering higher ratings than the previous presenter.

Again, radical changes to programming is a two-edged sword. In this case for 2GB , it worked.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Will Survey 8 be more Q than A?
David
8 December 2020 - 8:48am
It's not a bad strategy but will depend upon how much of the audience is in the mood for fun in 2021. As a listener, I feel my demographic wants charm, which is a little different from fun. 2021 will be 2020FUN for SCA says Dave Cameron
Anthony The Koala
8 December 2020 - 6:56am
5G, may well be "old hat" by 2030. In the SMH, 8-12-2020 https://www.smh.com.au/technology/nokia-leads-a-6g-wireless-project-for-european-union-20201208-p56lgm.html the engineers are preparing for 6G technology by 2030.

It is not all one particular entity such as Nokia involved in 6G. Engineers are developing a transistor which can operate in the W-band at 95GHz, source,
https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/8962214. Currently engineers in Argentina and China are experimenting with 6G satellite communications, source, https://www.aa.com.tr/en/asia-pacific/china-launches-worlds-first-6g-experiment-satellite/2034321 .

The latency of the 6G service is expected to be 1000 times faster (1ms) than 5G, and also operate in the Terhertz band source, https://arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/1909/1909.11315.pdf#:~:text=The%20capacity%20of%206G%20cellular,high%20data%20rates%20%5B32%5D. , page 2 of 12.

Given the potential for higher speed wireless communication, I still posit that fibre-optic communication will be faster than wireless because the wavelength of light is several times shorter than the wavelength of 6G resulting in more data capacity.

Given that engineers/physicists have developed transistors being able to operate at frequencies in terrahertz (THz), it would not surprise me that these transistors will operate in the light frequency.

Remember that the limitation of speed on fibre-optic networks is the speed of the electronics on both ends of the fibre-optic cable.

I know, because when I studied science at Macquarie University, I received a top mark in a fibre-optic laboratory for the limitations in speed of fibre-optic communications.

Thank you,
Anthony of researching Belfield
ACMA's report on the future delivery of radio
Anthony The Koala
8 December 2020 - 5:45am
It's is truly remarkable how CHY is a provider of news not only for the Coffs Harbour region. CHY could well be another training ground for electronic journalism. This is notwithstanding the National Radio News from 2MCE (Bathurst),

Sources:
https://www.cbaa.org.au/national-radio-news and https://arts-ed.csu.edu.au/NRN/home

For CHY it is a great achievement, in what started as a youth station under the care of the Coffs Harbour Salvation Army delivering its radio programs via a subscription/sponsorship model delivered via telephone lines, it is now a source of news.

It demonstrates that community radio is a great training ground for future media personnel, should commercial media expand its news service. Community radio is a great source giving is audience what they want where commercial media, regional or capital city or the ABC do not provide.

Thank you,
Anthony of in praise of community radio, Belfield which is also exciting.
Local news service for CHY FM begins on Monday
StJohn
7 December 2020 - 9:49pm
I recall ABC radio had major bulletins of 15 minutes, then reduced to a single 07:00 morning news bulletin of 10 min and all other bulletins 5 minutes. How do we get local metro news outside of Sydney in such a short bulletin?

How long are your local news bulletins?

As you may be aware, the Bateman's Bay tower was burnt during the fires early this year. This took out the ABC local radio transmitter (fed from Bega) but on the same tower is mobile phones including the use of the ABC Emergency app, as well as emergency services. On such towers carry TV and wireless NBN is common in regional areas. Did any of your transmitters on Mt MOOMBIL off air because the power line through the thick bush was burnt down?

Lastly can your program and Radio National be received in stereo from the Mt Moombil tower?
Local news service for CHY FM begins on Monday
Wendy Jane
4 December 2020 - 9:56am
Love how you have been able to incorporate so many bird puns into the story!
Seriously, I hope that pigeon radio finds somewhere safe to roost.
Fancy a show about pigeons on your radio station?
Benjamin_S
3 December 2020 - 1:52pm
Great to hear about more news content in Coffs! Best of luck to 2CHY!
Just for clarity, the quote that ‘the ABC station takes news from Sydney’ is misleading in that it suggests that there is now no local news. In fact, the ABC has increased its local news presence in Coffs Harbour, with two news reporters and two features reporters based in Coffs Harbour, providing locally produced bulletins every weekday morning, as well as providing local content into the local breakfast program between 6.15 and 10am, and then providing local content throughout the day on air and online at www.abc.net.au/coffscoast. Cheers, Benjamin, ABC Coffs Coast.
Local news service for CHY FM begins on Monday

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 1996-2021. All Rights Reserved.