What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
StJohn
21 September 2020 - 10:30pm
I have read the EU directive. It does not mention the word DAB or DAB+ but use the words digital radio instead.
It should be noted that digital radio is used by mobile broadband as well as DRM.

Many new radios use software designed radios. DRM and DAB+ signal processing are identical except for some parameter settings. The major difference between the DAB+ and DRM is just the filter used to select the frequency the user wishes to listen to.

DAB+ is the highest frequency used by broadcast radio and as a result has the smallest coverage area. DRM will work at many lower frequencies, extending the coverage area and minimises the size of black spots.
Three months for EU Member States to implement EECC on DAB
dingram
21 September 2020 - 4:42pm
As someone who often still has to drive in Sydney, I'll admit I seldom tune to DAB+ on our new car radio because it is so hit-and-miss - usually at a critical moment in a news bulletin. But please bear a thought for those of us living in rural and regional Australia, for whom DAB+ remains no more than a far-off pipe dream. We have the cars and the DAB sets in our our homes but not a hope in hell of making use of them in the foreseeable future. I remember more than two decades ago taking part in industry planning committees for the introduction of DAB. We were excited, energised and even drew up our own network schedules for the great new digital radio age. What a waste of time that was. Even the best networks in Australia still run only a fraction of the programming DAB should enable and it is still unavailable altogether outside the major cities. Yes, web radio, streaming and podcasting on mobile devices have made DAB less attractive, but we are now heading towards a situation where whole generations of Australian radio listeners will have skipped from terrestrial analogue to Internet-delivered mobile digital radio without ever once tuning in their DAB-ready sets. It's 8-track, Betamax and DAT all over again. We should all be ashamed. Tunnel vision about digital radio could cost lives
Anthony The Koala
21 September 2020 - 4:42pm
I clearly recall in the late 1980s when the Sydney Harbour Tunnel was constructed that repeaters/transmitters for AM Stereo were installed to cater for those using the tunnel. AM Stereo was officially on air for three years.

DAB+ has officially been on air since 2009. More vehicles are installed with AM/FM/DAB+ infotainment systems. More than one million vehicles have an AM/FM/DAB+ receiver, source https://www.digitalradioplus.com.au/vehicles-with-dab .It wouldn't be too hard to put a repeater/transmitter? It has been achieved in Europe with emergency services utilizing DAB, page 19, https://www.digitalradioplus.com.au/CMSPages/GetFile.aspx?guid=1fdb68fe-ffbb-4429-bf34-438ff036582a

Seamless operation between receiving the DAB+ signal outside and inside the tunnel is possible without having to reconfigure the car's radio receiver, https://www.vdl.fr/media/file/ds_trs2_en_v2.pdf .

The signals from the multiplex are received, filtered and retransmitted throughout the tunnel. The tunnel management can override the incoming signal with emergency messages.

Why stop at Harbour tunnels? Why not include the Metro-West tunnels where passengers can listen to their particular DAB+ services?

The technology to re-broadcast/transmit tunnels is available why not have these facilities installed?

Thank you,
Anthony from thinking Belfield
Tunnel vision about digital radio could cost lives
Secret Squid
18 September 2020 - 12:23am
Given the choice of listening to the right wing talk garbage piped into 54HI, I would listen to triple M any day. Just saying. Mining decision the pits: Is ACMA playing fast and loose?
Tejas
17 September 2020 - 2:17pm
i’m in two minds about this.

as someone who many years ago did my share of regional radio i understand the difficulties that these stations have but i also think the following

1 - if a mine is going to the trouble to (presumably) hook a webstream up to a transmitter that means there is a market that is not being met by the local stations

2 - the other thing for me is as long as it is not interfering with any other transmissions and they have the approval - so what? it’s like me putting an FM transmitter in my car so i can listen to my phone, except on a bigger scale.

If locals are tuning into these retransmitted stations it means the local stations are not serving the market, and instead of jumping up and down and complaining about it, they should look at why people are listening and how they can tap this market
Mining decision the pits: Is ACMA playing fast and loose?
ceejay
17 September 2020 - 11:24am
... how can SCA claim "locally-hosted" when Cameron Hilder is covering "Mareeba/Mt Isa" which are over a thousand kilometres from each other? Hit Network strengthens statewide programming with new appointments
Anthony The Koala
16 September 2020 - 6:40pm
In another posting on this site where a job for Nine was advertised, I mentioned the advertisement overlooked nearly 50% of their radio station portfolio was not mentioned. These stations were 2UE, 4BH and Magic 1278,
reference my comment at https://radioinfo.com.au/news/covid-restart-will-not-stop-resumption-radio-ratings.

In today's post the third last paragraph mentions 2GB, 3AW, 4BC and 6PR. I noticed the absence of 2UE, 4BH and Magic 1278. This is in light of the first and second paragraphs mentioning Nine's booking platform for "...all broadcast platforms..."

Like the observation in the last post, I don't want to speculate, but can someone explain how a business is able to book advertising on 2UE, 4BC and 6PR via the 9Galaxy platform from the 1st November 2020 as per first paragraph?

Thank you,
Anthony of holes in Swiss cheese Belfield
Nine make buying radio easier by adding 9Galaxy
Niko
15 September 2020 - 10:55am
Congrats on a Super Career Mick P-R! Only worked with you for a few months but I can honestly say you're one of the best Radio Bossess I've ever had! Mick Raisin calls it a day on a 40 year career
Anthony The Koala
14 September 2020 - 4:18pm
I agree with with the premise of the article that research and continual monitoring of 'movements' in customer data is needed to either establish a business or the business to continue as a going concern.

I also agree that one should "...look for facts that will shake other’s falsely formed beliefs.....," fourth-last paragraph. I don't have access to the minds of management.

How much the management adhere's to "falsely held beliefs" ? For many years there was the belief over 30 years ago that women wouldn't attract listeners to a talk radio program. Why that belief was held when (i) there were successful women presenters on the ABC, the 1960s with Andrea and Gwen Plumb. Then (ii) the ABC had success with Caroline Jones and Margaret Throsby on 2BL (ABC 702). Recently, prior to the last ratings survey, pre-pandemic 2GB's Deborah Knight's afternoon program registered ratings higher than the previous presenter.

If we are to believe that evidence-based research aids in decision making, one would believe that the numbers would be crunched in order to determine whether the business model is profitable.

All business is risk. Having followed the progress of 2UE and 2CH over the last few years, one would believe that "Talking Lifestyle", "Talking Sports" for 2UE would be profitable. Similarly, 2CH would have been profitable as a music station if the research indicated that it would succeed.

Unfortunately, for 2CH and 2UE, the ventures were running at a loss. The previous owners of 2CH were likely to break even when it was sold to Croc Media after adjusting for present value discounted cash flows. We await the results of 2UE's ratings forthcoming later in September 2020 (this month, 2020).

While acknowledging the author's remark about continual monitoring of listeners' consumption of music and the type of music, I do have concerns about the assumptions for a particular genre of music that there is a 'closed thinking' in regards for new and emerging artists being admitted to the radio station's playlist.

It seems that in many business models that management are so 'conservative' in not experimenting or doing things outside the 'market research box' . It was Steve Jobs who has been known to say that "...people don't know what they want until you show it to them. That's why I never rely on market research...."

Yes business models have risk. While research is a very useful business decision tool, you don't want to be locked in a 'vicious cycle' that if it's not in the data you don't proceed. But if you do use the data, it may well be worth to be like Steve Jobs' approach to be proactive and surprise the customer. For radio stations, it may mean to reserve some time on the weekend to 'experiment' and measure the response.

Thank you,
Anthony of exciting Belfield
The Importance of Evidence in Strategic Planning
StJohn
14 September 2020 - 4:13pm
I hope that she can erase the reputation outside of an area bounded by the Blue Mountains, the Hawkesbury River and the Royal National Park that it is the Sydney Broadcasting Service. The moving of Mottram and Lane is a good start if there is more stories from other states, regional and remote areas. Lee Glendinning will join the ABC to lead delivery of regional and local content

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 1996-2020. All Rights Reserved.