What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
StJohn
14 September 2020 - 3:53pm
The ABC has had the ability to broadcast nationally from any studio for a long time. However more than half their staff are in the large Ultimo building, so this is a refreshing change.
Fortunately phone charges are not related to distance means that contacts can be maintained.
It would be interesting to see what would have happened last year if Saturday AM & PM were produced in Bega, where one of the Bega studios program feeds went to Mt Wandera near Bateman's Bay where its FM transmitter was burnt down in horrendous fires.

So much of the current news and current affairs output is now repetition due to journalist cuts, I hope that these moves can introduce some unique stories which were not in the preceding news.

AM and PM presenters Sabra Lane and Linda Mottram on the move
Anthony The Koala
11 September 2020 - 7:54am
It's rare but not unusual for 2MBS-fm to play unusual sound effects on its program.

In the early 1980s, in the late evening on 2MBS-fm, I heard a piece of odd-sounding atonal classical music interspersed regularly with the sound of a toilet flush. A friend at school heard the same thing which confirmed what I heard.

On the other hand, there may be someone interfering with the program going to air, either by illegally intruding or"taking over" the lawful broadcast signal or by a program material which was not supposed to go air.

While cases of the former have occurred overseas whereby a lawfully transmitted program was substituted with a non-lawful signal between the studio and the transmitter. For example broadcasts in Chicago of sporting matches have been interrupted by a "Max Headroom" impersonator, source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5mzkt4N77s .

For the latter example of material not supposed to go to air, in the mid-to-late 1980s, a tennis match broadcast on the 7 Network was interrupted by an illicit video. That was caused by staff accidentally the internally-viewed illicit material to the main broadcast signal.

In sum, three causes of the interference to the 2MBS signal are: (i) it was either an illegal or accidental switching of the broadcast signal OR (ii) it may have been part of the program content.

Thank you,
Anthony of thinking Belfield
Mystery audio on Fine Music Sydney goes viral on TikTok
Anthony The Koala
5 September 2020 - 11:14am
While I cannot speculate on whether there will be further reductions either directly or in real terms in the forthcoming 2020/2021 budget, The Hon. Emeritus Senator Reynolds reminds us that our ABC has contributed to our well being by covering the 2019/2020 conflagration, the pandemic and supplementing educational programs.

While this story was published, "The Australian" published an article, 4-09-2020 that the new BBC Director-General Tim Davie is prepared to cut the BBC by 20% and is prepared to reduce the number of channels. https://www.theaustralian.com.au/world/the-times/bbc-should-be-cut-down-to-size-says-new-chief/news-story/e75e883a27a0435c917f265e812077d2. The usual readers' comments was to bag the ABC.

The Director-General may well be right if there are people pushing a personal agenda when they should be "free from political bias" and is prepared to cut the number of channels.

A few months ago, there were calls to move the BBC from a licence model to a subscription service. The 'idea' gets parroted in Australia with commentators and the usual comments in response that mentions 'ABC' or 'BBC' in the stories' headline.

Having a subscription service means to encrypt and decrypt the signal in order for the subscribers only access to a service. For the analogue AM and FM services, encryption and decryption would not be practical. There aren't any analogue AM/FM radio transmission and reception systems with encryption/decryption in the market. So goodbye to analogue AM and FM services under a subscription service. Yes I have addressed the idea of the ABC becoming a subscription service elsewhere on this site.

A subscription service would turn a public good to only those who can afford to subscribe. A public good is not the same as Foxtel, Kayo, Stan and Sky. We cannot rely on the commercial networks to inform us when they are reducing their news services. We don't know whether the news services provided by the commercial networks will expand post pandemic. Furthermore we cannot rely on unverified news on social media.

Nearly 90 years ago, the agenda against the ABC was set by Sir Keith Murdoch, who did not want competition with his 11 radio stations who were providing news services.

However, the BBC Director-General may well have a valid claim to reducing the number of channels. Before the introduction of DVB in 2001 and DAB+ in 2009, the ABC was one TV channel, a metropolian (2BL, 3LO etc), RN, classic fm (instutued by Mr Fraser in 1976) , NewsRadio (instituted in 1994). There were no web sites, no ABC2, ABCME, ABCNews, and various digital channels.

The way the ABC services are consumed may be different with podcasts, VOD (iView) and live streaming.

At the same time, with all these channels and web presence, the ABC seems to be doing more with less since 2001. The Nine Network has fewer services and receives $1.136 billion in revenue from broadcast TV and radio, source, page 19, https://www.asx.com.au/asxpdf/20200827/pdf/44lyznr5rq7xkd.pdf.

The other topic is the SBS. Its origins were in 1975 when a multi-lingual service was required to explain the new 'Medibank' service in several languages. The SBS radio service continues to do so with the current information regarding the pandemic.

The TV service expanded in 1980 (under The Hon. Mr Fraser (RIP) ). Pre DVB+, it was one TV channel and two radio services, AM and FM. It has expanded to four television services.

It is also valid to ask if SBS has gone too far with additional services, VICE, World Movies, Food and NITV? Many of the programs on SBS don't appear to be multicultural such as Michael Portillo's train documentaries, "8 of 10 Cats Do Countdown". That also includes shows like Insight and Dateline. Those shows are germaine to the ABC. Those shows aren't multicultural.

However, NITV has to be kept whether on SBS or the ABC. Australians need to be informed about our indigenous brothers and sisters. Let's not forget the coverage on RN and metropolitan radio (2BL, 3LO).

We hear very little on the commercial media about indigenous issues and stories. We don't hear the stories of the aunties and uncles contributing to their communities and Australia on commercial media.

In conclusion, The Hon. Emeritus Senator Reynolds sends a reminder about the future of the ABC. The ABC and SBS are very important public services. However, there may well be a valid claim to consolidate the number of channels. They have expanded several fold since DVB+ 2001 and DAB+ 2009. But a blind cut based since the 1930s Sir Keith Murdoch's agenda against the ABC should not be implemented.

Thank you,'
Anthony of Belfield
ABC Friends urge the government to prioritise the ABC
joe2014
4 September 2020 - 1:14pm
Thank you for this article, Steve - an important message.

You are not your job
Arthur
4 September 2020 - 12:50pm
A scholar and a gentleman you are – thank you You are not your job
Jason
4 September 2020 - 9:18am
I read your article ‘You are not your job’ today and it’s a great piece! We are lucky to have you in the industry at time like this. You are not your job
Steve Ahern
4 September 2020 - 9:15am
Thanks Jack. I always like to try and put in a chuckle somewhere! All is well with me, hope you are too.
Steve
You are not your job
jack shit
4 September 2020 - 9:07am
Sage advice Steve. Especially laughed at the radio industry website quip. Hope you are well mate. Seems it! You are not your job
Anthony The Koala
3 September 2020 - 9:33am
It would be very interesting to see the ratings for radio 2UE and its sibling stations 4BH and Magic1278. My views on "hits and memories" formats and it's variations are known.

What I found very interesting for a job posting on this site at https://radioinfo.com.au/jobs/strategy-analyst-nine-radio under the "company description" heading was the inclusion of ".....radio stations 2GB, 3AW, 4BC and 6PR..." BUT an absence of 2UE, 4BH and Magic1278.

I don't want to speculate on the status of 2UE, 4BH and Magic1278 and their ratings are yet to be released. However, is there something strange about these omissions under the company descriptions? That's 50% of the radio stations missing.

Thank you,
Anthony of observable Belfield


COVID restart will not stop the resumption of radio ratings
Jono & Ben
3 September 2020 - 9:06am
We're very interested to see the next ratings results because we'd like to know how 3MP is doing as we're loving listening to this and hope it's now the number one radio station in Melbourne.

We're very disappointed with Coles Radio, we think they're playing way too much modern chart music and we hope they're at the bottom of the ratings now. Every time we request them to do things,they never do it and they never change the music they're playing. Coles Radio used to play some good songs on the station but now this has changed and we don't like what they're playing.

If Coles Radio started playing more easy listening songs and playing our song requests,we'd start listening to them again.
COVID restart will not stop the resumption of radio ratings

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 1996-2020. All Rights Reserved.