What You Think | radioinfo

What You Think

User Opinion Story
Krazy Kevin
19 July 2018 - 1:36pm
Doh..!! Sandilands back on the TV...Nooooo...a waste of network coverage!! Kyle Sandilands confirms TV return for new Channel 10 show
westo
18 July 2018 - 9:46am
Peter, it really doesn't take much to check facts.
On 16 July I advised 2UE was launched in 1925 not 35 as the story says, then you justify the mistake with another mistake?
2UE changed to 950khz and was 950khz until all AM stations moved in 1978. After 1978 2UE broadcast on 954khz.
2UE started off as 2EU but within months changed to UE - surely the point of the article was that 2UE was our oldest commercial station - it's frequency then and now is irrelevant. Now please update it to correct your mistakes and false justifications.

EDITOR: Westo, fair point, and thanks for the history details. Amended.
2UE set adrift as 2GB sails on to greater glory
Secret Squid
16 July 2018 - 1:57pm
3MP now SEN? You might want to check that.

Did check. You're right. It was 3AK - Ed
2UE set adrift as 2GB sails on to greater glory
smerdonp
16 July 2018 - 9:37am
A minor point - 3MP (1377) didn't become SEN. That was 3AK (1116). 3MP maintained its identity through that time. It (much) later became MTR, then MyMP, and finally Classic Rock.

I stand corrected. -ED
2UE set adrift as 2GB sails on to greater glory
westo
16 July 2018 - 4:04am
2UE was launched 26 January 1925 not 35 as the story states.

The story actually states that the "954 frequency" has been broadcasting as 2UE since 1935. Prior to that 2UE was broadcasting on 1025 kHz AM. -Ed
2UE set adrift as 2GB sails on to greater glory
Anthony The Koala
12 July 2018 - 8:10pm
I have said elsewhere, that if 2UE, 4BH and 3EE have to resort to a music format, that it does not go down the "classic hits"/"golden oldies" or its variants as the market may well be saturated with these formats: 2CH, 2WS, Coles, Easy and Smooth. This does not infer there is anything wrong with the music. 2CH on DAB has the best signal at over 128kbs. It's the saturation. Nor do I suggest that 2UE, 4BH and 3EE become like the former DAB station "Stardust" which was like the 2CH of the 1970s and 1980s but with too much Rod Stewart singing from the "American Songbook".

Perhaps a music format that is unique could take elements from a "Golden Oldies"/"Classic Hits" format. It could also take elements from Mr Ray Hadley's "Country Music" program. It could also take elements from MBS-fm and ABC-fm. There are also many familiar songs which are known by many that gets little airplay. When was the last time you heard the music from The Lion King or even The Sound Of Music on the air?

Similarly there are contemporary artists who are a commercial success but get little airplay including Tony Bennett, Lady Gaga (Jazz), Roberto Alagna, Mark Vincent, Greta Bradman and Amy Winehouse (RIP) to name a few. Even the Conservatorium-trained musicians Lah-Lahs play fine music.

But I qualify it with DO YOUR RESEARCH AND DON'T HAVE CONFIRMATION BIAS WHILE HAVING A BEER ON A FRIDAY OR IMPLEMENT THE FORMAT BECAUSE THE FORMAT IS NOT USED IN THE U.S.. Do your research and don't be a copycat. And don't buy the same music library as other radio stations (mentioned in another RadioInfo article). Do something yourself and put your own music into the computer's music library and associated database (containing meta-information on artist, song, tempo, key signature).

Thank you,
Anthony from exciting Belfield
Analysis: radio ratings survey 4 2018
Aussiecam58
12 July 2018 - 7:40am
I predict by Christmas it will revert back into a music network but be rebranded to reflect the style of music played. I suggest it will go back to a easy music format or classic hits 19500-80s. Analysis: radio ratings survey 4 2018
Anthony The Koala
10 July 2018 - 6:32pm
The ratings for Macquarie Sports Radio are mixed. Surprisingly the ratings for Sydney have dropped more than 50% to 0.8 and Brisbane's results doubled to 1.1%. Melbourne's results are rather static at about 0.3% way behind market leader SEN. In a previous comment about survey 3, I would wait for two more surveys and act upon them. If this is a statistical anomaly, I would wait another two surveys from this survey. The issues are will Brisbane's audience grow and is Sydney's ratings a blip?

MSR is a labour-intensive format with a potentially rewarding upside. The current ratings do not appear to sustain economically a labour-intensive format'

Regards
Anthony of exciting Belfield
Analysis: radio ratings survey 4 2018
jonoburggraaf
9 July 2018 - 6:45pm
i wold like to here more songs on esey hits digital old songs Regional radio eligible for cadetship grants
Aussie Aussie Aussie
6 July 2018 - 2:51pm
We've already got an Oz Music internet radio station operation 24/7 playing only Australian Music, new and classic.

Ironically it's called Australian Made Music.

http://www.OzMadeMusic.Online
Local music focus for new SA internet radio station

Pages

radioinfo ABN: 87 004 005 109  P O Box 6430 North Ryde NSW 2113 Australia.  |  All content © 2012. All Rights Reserved.