CBAA Community Radio Award winners have been announced at a gala dinner at this year’s CBAA Conference in Melbourne.

The winners came from over 95 nominations covering a diverse cross section of the Community Broadcasting stations in Australia. 

CBAA Chief Executive Officer, Jon Bisset, says the awards are a fantastic opportunity to reflect on the sector’s successes and value.

“Congratulations to all the winners – it is our pleasure to have this opportunity to celebrate some of the fantastic work happening in community radio stations across the country. This body of work reflects the sector’s crucial role in providing a platform for local information and news shared by local voices, diverse programming, and Australian and specialist music.”


2019 CBAA Community Radio Award Winners

National Features and Documentary Series: The CWA and the F Word, Alice Ansara (2EAR FM)
Excellence in Technical Innovation: Creative Automation Solution, Alastair Ling (Edge Radio 99.3FM)
Best New Radio Program: That’s What I Call Science (Edge Radio, Hobart, TAS)
Best Online Content: The AFL Multicultural Football Show (3ZZZ, Melbourne, VIC)
Best Radio Program: Music: Revolver – A History of Feminist Music (RTRFM 92.1, Perth, WA)
Best Radio Program: Talks: ArtSwank (MAINfm, Castlemaine, VIC)
Best Special Event Broadcast: Mardi Gras Special 2019 (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)
Best Station Fundraising Campaign: You Make Hope Possible, (Hope 103.2, Sydney, NSW)
Best Station Production: Will Ryan (FBi Radio, Sydney, NSW)
Contribution to Australian Music Initiative: Music Masala, A Spicy Blend of Music and Life (Radio 4EB, Brisbane, QLD)
Contribution to Australian Music: Radio Program: The Dotted Line | Dotted Live (3MDR, Melbourne, VIC)
Excellence in Community Engagement: School of Thought (897fm, Perth, WA)
Excellence in Creative Audio: History Lab (2SER, Sydney, NSW)
Excellence in Digital Media: Wangki Radio (Wangki Radio, Fitzroy Crossing, WA)
Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting: Ireland Calling (2RDJ, Sydney, NSW)
Excellence in Indigenous Broadcasting: Carnarvon Lock Hospital Centennial (Ngaarda Media, Roebourne, WA)
Excellence in Innovative Programming and Content: Checkpoint (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)
Excellence in Journalism: Police, Perverts & Public Exposure: Uncovering Byron’s Nude Beach (Bay FM 99.9, Byron Bay, NSW)
Excellence in Music Presenting: Road to Bluesfest (Triple H 100.1FM, Sydney, NSW)
Excellence in News & Current Affairs Programming: Dylan Storer, The Edge (Wangki Radio, Fitzroy Crossing, WA)
Excellence in Outside Broadcasting: Ballina Meet the Candidates 2019 (Bay FM 99.9, Byron Bay, NSW)
Excellence in Technical Innovation: Creative Automation Solution by Alastair Ling (Edge Radio, Hobart, TAS)
Excellence in Technical Services: Jim Bickers (Fleurieu FM, Victor Harbor, SA)
Excellence in Training: Hear Me Roar (SYN Media, Melbourne, VIC)
Outstanding Small Station Award: 4CRM -Something for Everyone (4CRM, Mackay, QLD)
Outstanding Volunteer Contribution: Maurice Besgrove – Triple T 103.9 (Townsville, QLD)
Outstanding Youth Contribution: Sandy Al-Aweik – 92.1 2MFM – Muslim Community Radio (Sydney, NSW)

Hear from some of the winners

The Station Leadership Award went to Gerry “Gman” Terati Lyons, 3KND


Tony Staley joined the celebrations last night to announce his award – Tony Staley Award – to Wilcannia River Radio for Excellence in Community Radio. This station continues to create opportunities, building confidence, social inclusion and bringing the community closer together.

See our reports on the station from 2017 here and here.

David Turrell won the Michael Law Award, more here.


Tags: |