ABC Announces Local Radio Awards Finalists: Full List

After a selection process involving peer assessment teams, industry guests, a national judging panel and 267 entries, the finalists for the 2012 ABC Local Radio Awards have been announced.

In the Local Program of the Year catagory, two out of the three finalists were part of 702 Sydney, with Mornings with Jon Faine, Drive with Richard Glover, and Breakfast with Adam Spencer nominated.

In other notable catagories, 720 Perth, 936 Hobart and 702 Sydney will compete for Metropolitan Station of the Year.


Community Event of the Year (Metropolitan) finalists were 666 Canberra’s ‘Now Hear This’, 720 Perth’s ‘Lifeline WA’s 12 Days of Christmas Auction’, and Adam Spencer’s (702 Sydney) ‘Dry July’.

Winners will be announced in Sydney on Thursday 4 October at a ceremony hosted by ABC Local Radio Presenter Ryk Goddard and the Presenter of ABC Networked Local Radio?s Speaking Out, Rhianna Patrick.

Director ABC Radio, Kate Dundas, said that this year’s entries highlighted the talents of staff working across Local Radio behind the microphone, behind the mixing desk and behind the scenes.

“The quality of entries means that judging the Awards always involves difficult decisions for our judges and this year is no exception. 2012 has once again brought some of our best content into the Awards spotlight and revealed the skills and passion of Local Radio staff,” she said.

Finalists travelling to Sydney will also participate in a Local Radio Forum held over two days focusing on the craft of telling the stories that are the lifeblood of Local Radio.

The nominees:

Station of the Year (Metropolitan)
720 ABC Perth WA
936 ABC Hobart TAS
702 ABC Sydney NSW

Station of the Year (Regional)
ABC Mildura – Swan Hill VIC
ABC North West WA
ABC Kimberley WA

Content Maker of the Year
Joel Rheinberger – 936 ABC Hobart TAS
Miranda Grant – ABC Southern Queensland QLD
Liz Trevaskis – 105.7 ABC Darwin NT

Rural Reporter of the Year
Liz Trevaskis – 105.7 ABC Darwin NT
Warwick Long – ABC Goulburn Murray VIC
Caddie Brain – 783 ABC Alice Springs NT

Sports Broadcaster of the Year
Gerard Whateley – 774 ABC Melbourne VIC
Quentin Hull – 612 ABC Brisbane QLD
Peter Walsh – 891 ABC Adelaide SA

Best use of the Medium – Radio
(In Memory of Paul Bodington)
Libbi Gorr and Courtney Carthy – Sunday School – 774 ABC Melbourne VIC
Ginger Gorman, Melanie Sim, Amanda Roberts – The Emporium – 666 ABC Canberra ACT
James Valentine, Lawrence Champness, Laura McAuliffe – Afternoons with James Valentine – 702 ABC Sydney NSW

Best use of the Medium – Online
1233 ABC Newcastle for “River Stories” NSW
702 ABC Sydney for “Get A Real Job” NSW
ABC South East NSW for “ABC South East Music” NSW

Local Program of the Year (Metropolitan/National)
Mornings with Jon Faine – 774 ABC Melbourne VIC
Drive with Richard Glover – 702 ABC Sydney NSW
Breakfast with Adam Spencer – 702 ABC Sydney NSW

Local Program of the Year (Regional)
Breakfast with Robert Blackmore – 90.3 ABC Coast FM QLD
The Country Hour – Northern Territory NT
Your Afternoon with Penny Terry – Tasmania TAS

Outstanding Coverage of a Local Story
1233 ABC Newcastle for “Hooked on Heroin: The Price We Pay in the Hunter” NSW
Mornings with Jon Faine, 774 ABC Melbourne for “Human Roadblock” VIC
The Country Hour for “Coal Seam Gas Journey” QLD

Community Event of the Year (Metropolitan)
666 ABC Canberra – “Now Hear This” ACT
720 ABC Perth and Statewide WA for “Lifeline WA?s 12 Days of Christmas Auction” WA
702 ABC Sydney – Breakfast with Adam Spencer for “Dry July” NSW

Community Event of the Year (Regional)
ABC Statewide Drive Victoria for “Let?s Talk About It Forum” VIC
ABC Queensland Statewide Evenings for “Coast to Coast” QLD
630 ABC North Queensland for “Cyclone Sunday” QLD

Promotions Producer of the Year
Mark Jennings – 666 ABC Canberra ACT
Michael Spooner – 702 ABC Sydney and NSW NSW
Hamish Robertson – 105.7 ABC Darwin and NT NT

Marketing Campaign of the Year
720 ABC Perth and Statewide WA for “Lifeline WA?s 12 Days of Christmas Auction” WA
702 ABC Sydney for “Exhumed” NSW
612 ABC Brisbane for “The 612 Promo Film Campaign” QLD

Best New Talent
Suzie Taylor – ABC Goulburn Murray VIC
Lucy Barbour – ABC Western Victoria VIC
Eloise Fuss – 639 ABC North and West SA

Program of the Year (Digital, Streaming or Podcast)
The Main Ingredient with Kelli Brett – 774 ABC Melbourne VIC
Bombing of Darwin Walking Tour – 105.7 ABC Darwin and NT NT
The Emporium with Ginger Gorman – 666 ABC Canberra ACT