ABC Local Radio Award winners announced in Adelaide Ceremony

Winners of the 2006 ABC Local Radio Awards have been announced at a presentation ceremony held in Adelaide’s National Wine Centre. ABC 891 Adelaide’s Matthew Abraham & David Bevan won metro local program of the year and, in a first for the Awards, the title of ‘Station of the Year’ (metropolitan) was shared between two stations – 774 ABC Melbourne and 1233 ABC Newcastle.

ABC Goulburn Murray took out Station of the Year (Regional) and 702 ABC Sydney’s Virginia Trioli was named Broadcaster of the Year.

Hosted by H.G. Nelson, the Awards were presented in front of prominent politicians and ABC staff. Established in 2001 and open to all staff contributing to the ABC’s nine metropolitan and 51 regional stations, the Awards are designed to celebrate the best of Local Radio across Australia.

The Awards ceremony is part of a two-day forum covering issues affecting ABC Local Radio program-makers across Australia. A full list of award winners is below.

Director ABC Radio and Awards judge Sue Howard told the audience the awards showcase the very best of ABC Local Radio:

“Tonight is an opportunity to celebrate the making of entertaining and inspiring radio for Australian audiences. It highlighted the talent and dedication of our staff and I’d like to congratulate everyone who has been recognised this evening.”

The Awards were presented by the Governor of South Australia, Marjorie Jackson-Nelson; South Australian Premier Mike Rann; South Australian Senator and Immigration Minister Amanda Vanstone; State Minister Jane Lomax-Sminth; ABC Chairman Donald McDonald; plus the ABC’s Sue Howard and Lynley Marshall.

radioinfo congratulates all finalists and winners.


Station of the Year (metropolitan)

1233 ABC Newcastle & 774 ABC Melbourne

Station of the Year (regional)

ABC Goulburn Murray

Outstanding Contribution to Local Radio by an Individual

Fiona Churchman

Broadcaster Of The Year

Virginia Trioli – 774 ABC Melbourne Drive & 702 ABC Sydney Mornings

Rural Reporter of the Year

Adrienne Francis – NT Country Hour

Outstanding Contribution To Local Radio By A Sports Broadcaster

Simone Thurtell & Caroline Davison for Northern Grandstand

Online Feature/Website Of The Year

Sarah Knight & Sinead Mangan for “Tales from the Riverbank”

Local Program of the Year (metropolitan)

Mornings with Matthew Abraham & David Bevan – 891 ABC Adelaide

Local Program of the Year (regional)

Bonita Brown and Lyndall Bell for “The Big Fish with Snagger Brown” – ABC Illawarra

Outstanding Coverage Of A Local Story

Local Radio Victoria for ‘Fear in the Forests – 26 days which scorched Victoria’

The Paul Boddington Award for Outstanding Radio Feature/Package By An Individual

Joel Rheinberger for ‘Nude Day’ – 666 ABC Canberra

Outside Broadcast Of The Year

Mornings with Jon Faine – 774 ABC Melbourne – King Khalid College

Community Event of the Year

ABC Rural – The Country Hour 60th Anniversary Roadshow

Networked Program Of The Year

Overnights with Trevor Chappell

Promotion Producer Of The Year

Andrew Taylor – 774 ABC Melbourne & ABC Victoria