Brian White finalist workshop held in Sydney

Finalists for the 2019 Brian White Scholarship held their news workshop in Sydney today at the SCA Rooftop.

The 10 student finalists for the Brian White Scholarship had the opportunity to gain feedback and insight from commercial radio news directors, Deborah Clay, Michelle Stephenson, Erin Maher, and Natasha Jobson.
The finalists also undertook numerous journalism challenges, ranging from a general knowledge quiz, to writing and recording a radio news script.
The news directors are now in the process of deciding on the winner, and the announcement will be made next week and the winner  will receive an eight-week paid internship, working across Macquarie Media, SCA, ARN and Nova in either Sydney or Melbourne, with travel and accommodation included if they live outside these cities.

The scholarship is named after legendary broadcaster Brian White, commercial radio’s first cadet journalist, who went on to cover wars in Vietnam and the Middle East, authored a book on politics and the media, served as general manager of 3AW in Melbourne and chaired the Fitzroy Football Club.

Five of the 10 finalists are from NSW – Isabel Everett (The University of Newcastle), Alix Waugh (Macleay College), Rachel Holdsworth (Charles Sturt University), Isobel Rushe (University of Technology Sydney) and Jarrod Melmeth (University of Newcastle). 
Four are from Western Australia’s Edith Cowan University – Elliott ChipperSamantha GoerlingTom Durkin and Danica Lamb and one is from Victoria; Naseem Radmehr (Deakin University).
The previous two winners of the scholarship, Kamin Gock, who studied at Charles Sturt University, and Rachel Storer, from Newcastle University, both successfully went on to full-time jobs in broadcast media.

                                   Finalists and News Directors



Tags: | | |