FBi Radio’s SMAC Award winners

FBi Radio has announced the winners in the 2019 FBi Sydney Music, Arts & Culture (SMAC) Awards

A record number of Sydneysiders had their say in the publicly voted awards recognising the musicians, artists, performers, restaurants and events that left their mark on the city in 2019. 

The winners were announced during a ceremony at Carriageworks last night, broadcast live on FBi 94.5FM and hosted by broadcasters Maria Dimitrakas and Ruby Miles.
The awards featured live performances from Shady Nasty, Tasman Keith and EGOISM.
Record of the Year was awarded to Julia Jacklin for Crushing, while Western Sydney drill group ONEFOUR took out Song of the Year with their anthem Spot the Difference

The 2019 SMAC of the Year is Heidi Lenffer.
As the founder and director of FEAT. – Future Energy Artists, Heidi has forged a sustainable artist-led initiative that empowers artists to offset their own emissions by investing in renewable energy sources. 
In response to research showing that a modest 15-date band tour leaves the same carbon footprint as an average household does in a year, she has provided the arts community with the necessary tools to combat their own impact on our increasingly fragile environment. 

FBi Radio’s Managing Director Nikki Brogan said: “This year’s winner is rejecting the boundaries imposed on artists that tell them to just stick to their art. In striving to make change in her corner of the world, she is offering a shining example of leadership and responsibility-taking that our leaders would do well to heed.
“In rallying creatives around her and offering positive, pragmatic solutions at a time when hopelessness is the mood of the day, Heidi has not only invited us to reckon with our own impact, she’s given us the tools to do something about it.”   


Tags: |