Mediaworks celebrates success at NZ Radio Awards 2017

MediaWorks Radio is celebrating this evening as it takes home a total of 26 coveted awards at the New Zealand Radio Awards 2017.

Duncan Garner (pictured) accepted Best Talk Presenter for RadioLIVE Drive, and RadioLIVE’s Lloyd Burr was awarded the prestigious Best News Journalist.

The Rock won big with Jono and Ben’s drive show receiving Best Music Non-Breakfast Team – Network, as well as Best Client Promotion – Network for ‘Cool Town Bro’.

The Rock’s ‘National Crate Day’ promotion took out Best Network Station Promotion and Best Station Digital Promotion, while the ‘Make Kaikoura Crate Again’ campaign scooped Best Community Campaign.

Jim Cawthorn from The Rock Workday was named Best New Broadcaster – On-Air, and Best Video went to The Rock for Jim’s ‘Extreme Parkour: Expectations vs Reality’.

Best Music Breakfast Show – Network went to The Edge’s Jay-Jay, Dom and Randell, and The Edge also won Best Creative Commercial for ‘Corn Evil – The End is Near’ and Best Station Imaging.

Christian Boston was awarded Best Content Director for the second year running, recognising another great year for the More FM Network. Also for the second consecutive year, More FM Canterbury took away the coveted Station of the Year – Surveyed Market.

Chris Bond received Best Show Producer for his amazing work on More FM’s Si and Gary. The Breeze’s Robert Scott won Best Music Non-Breakfast Solo Host – Network, while The Easy Workday with Katrina Smith took out Best Music Non-Breakfast Solo Host – Single Market for The Breeze Wellington. It was a great year for The Breeze Wellington, also getting recognition with Best Promotion – Single Market for its ‘Cranzac’ campaign and Best Single Market Station Promotion for ‘Guns ‘N’ Roses’ on The Breeze.

Best Creative Feature went to Mai FM, and the award for Commercial Production was received by Mai FM Northland.

Previous CEO of MediaWorks Radio, Wendy Palmer, received a well-deserved award for Outstanding Contribution to Radio. Wendy was with MediaWorks for almost 12 years, and in her three years as CEO the business went from strength-to-strength.

Group Content Director, Leon Wratt says:

“Our primary goal is to create entertaining, compelling and relevant content that connects with New Zealanders everywhere, and the success of our teams and talent this evening demonstrates that we are delivering this. The quality of the candidates this evening paints an incredibly positive picture of the strength of the New Zealand radio industry as a whole.

“I could not be more proud of all of our finalists and winners. Their hard work and dedication is second to none, and it’s great to have that publicly recognised. And of course, to see Wendy honoured for her contribution to radio was very fitting – she has been an integral part of our team and we couldn’t have done this without her.”

MediaWorks is New Zealand’s largest independent broadcaster, reaching 4.29 million Kiwis through its TV, Radio and Digital platforms. The company owns and operates television channels Three and The Edge TV; radio brands The Edge, The Rock, More FM, The Breeze, The Sound, Mai FM, George FM, Magic, and RadioLIVE; a network of websites including and ThreeNow, and a family of mobile and tablet apps. MediaWorks’ entertainment and news brands and people are household names, with loyal, highly engaged audiences.

2017 MediaWorks winners:

Best Community Campaign
Make Kaikoura Crate Again – Bryce Casey, Duncan Heyde, Roger Farrelly, Jennifer Bainbridge, Tom Furniss, Tony Lyall, Aaron Ly, Stacey Wouters, Stacey McLeod – The Rock Network

Best Content Director
Christian Boston – More FM Network

Best Creative Feature
Cool to Korero – Richard Culph, JGeek and the Geeks, Jimi Jackson, Grant Brodie – Mai FM

Best Show Producer
Chris Bond – Si and Gary Show – More FM Network

Best Video
Jim’s Extreme Parkour: Expectations vs Reality – Stacey McLeod, Jim Cawthorn – The Rock Network

Best New Broadcaster – On-Air
Jim Cawthorn – The Rock Network

Best News or Sports Journalist
Lloyd Burr – RadioLIVE/Newshub Network

Best Music Breakfast Show – Network
Jay-Jay, Dom and Randell – Jay-Jay Harvey, Dominic Harvey, Clinton Randell, Kerry Gregory, Carl Thompson, Stephanie Munro, Stephanie Monks – The Edge Network

Best Music Non-Breakfast Solo Host – Network
Robert Scott – The Easy Drive Home – Robert Scott – The Breeze Network

Best Music Non-Breakfast Solo Host – Single Market
The Easy Workday with Katrina Smith – Katrina Smith – The Breeze Wellington

Best Music Non-Breakfast Team – Network
Jono & Ben – Jono Pryor, Ben Boyce, Dan Webby, Duncan Heyde, Bronwynn Bakker – The Rock Network

Best Talk Presenter – Breakfast or Drive
Duncan Garner – RadioLIVE Drive with Duncan Garner – RadioLIVE Network

Best Client Promotion/Activation – Network
Jono and Ben’s Cool Town Bro – Jono Pryor, Ben Boyce, Duncan Heyde, Dan Webby, Bronwynn Bakker, Jason Mac, Michael Batty, Tony Lyall, Chris Lloyd, Adam Stevenson, Cam Bakker, Monique Pierce, Mel Rundle – The Rock Network

Best Client Promotion/Activation – Single Market
Cranzacs – Steve Joll, Kath Bier, Pearl Leonard, Casey Sullivan – The Breeze Wellington

Best Digital Entertainment – Stacey McLeod, Michael Baker, Alice Murray, Josh Post, Sharina Delluta, Kathleen Waller, Cathrin Jaeger – The Rock Network

Best Network Station Promotion
National Crate Day – Stacey Wouters, Michael Baker, Stacey McLeod – The Rock Network

Best Single Market Station Promotion
Guns ‘N’ Roses on The Breeze – Steve Joll, Kath Bier, Pearl Leonard, Casey Sullivan – The Breeze Wellington

Best Station Digital/Social Promotion
National Crate Day – Stacey Wouters, Michael Baker, Stacey McLeod – The Rock Network

Best Creative Commercial – Single or Campaign
Corn Evil – The End is Near – Alastair Barran – The Edge Auckland

Best Voice Talent
Gerard Cronin – MediaWorks All Stations

Best Station Imaging
Grant Brodie – The Edge Network

Best Station Trailer (Joint)
Donald Trump Make NZ Crate Again – Joe Baxendale, Jason Mac – The Rock Network

Commercial Production
Driveways – Ben French – Mai FM Northland

Best Network Sales Team
MediaWorks National Agency

Best Regional/Provincial Sales Team
MediaWorks Taupo/Rotorua

Station of the Year – Surveyed Market
More FM Canterbury – Christian Boston, Rob McDonald – More FM Canterbury

Outstanding Contribution to Radio
Jac Kluts
Wendy Palmer

Services to Broadcasting
Simon Marsh
Ronnie Phillips