Nominees for Best New Australian Talent announced

Eleven Australian artists have gained nomination for the prestigious Best New Australian Artist on Commercial Radio category at the 2002 Australian Commercial Radio Awards.

The 2002 nominees are:
Aneiki, Rachael Kane, Scott Cain, Kasey Chambers, George, Motor Ace, Selwyn, Shakaya, Holly Valance, Disco Montego and Alex Lloyd

Previous winners were Lash in 2001 and Vanessa Amorosi in 2000. The award is sponsored by Austereo

The nomination list was developed in consultation with ARIA and The Music Network according to a strict set of criteria.

FARB CEO Joan Warner, says: “Austereo will supply $50,000 of airtime to the winner, who will also be given the opportunity to perform on the night of the Awards, in front of over 700 commercial radio station executives and staff… Judging of the category will be undertaken by commercial radio program directors and music directors and will involve eight criteria – the artist’s potential to succeed, the appeal of the original material performed, credibility as a performer, listener requests, the artist’s willingness to participate in commercial radio station promotions, CD sales, chart position obtained and their willingness to tour around Australia.”