Peter Harvie inducted into Radio Hall of Fame

Peter Harvie has been inducted into the Commercial Radio Hall of Fame at the 26th annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards.

Harvie was honoured for his outstanding lifetime achievement and contribution to the radio broadcasting industry at tonight’s ACRA’s ceremony.
With more than 45 years experience in the advertising, marketing and media industries, Peter Harvie is greatly respected by some of Australia’s most successful on air and off air talent. He started his career in advertising, joining Clemenger Melbourne as a radio writer in 1966, where he became Creative Director and just three years later was appointed to the Board.  The company restructured in 1973 to become the Clemenger Harvie, with  Peter being appointed Managing Director. 
One of Clemenger Harvie’s long standing clients was the Triple M radio network. In 1993, Harvie became the Managing Director of Triple M Radio Network.  He was appointed to the Board and soon advanced to the position of Group Managing Director.
He was then appointed Executive Chairman of Austereo Group Limited from 2001 until May 2011, Executive Chairman of Austereo Pty Ltd and steered the business through the merger with Southern Cross Media to become Australia’s biggest and most diverse radio companies, Southern Cross Austereo.
Recognising his achievements, CRA’s Joan Warner said: “Peter Harvie is an outstanding leader and creative force in the radio broadcasting industry and continues today to be a supporter of commercial radio as an advertising medium and entertainment platform.”
The Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry peers and are selected by an executive level judging committee.  Previous inductees include last year’s Kevin Blyton, Graham Mott, Tony Pilkington, Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, John Laws, Bob Rogers, Gary O’Callaghan, Paul Thompson, Bob Francis, Rod Muir and the late Frank Hyde.
See the full winners list from tonight’s awards, here and winners’ speeches here.

Tags: | |