Process begins to appoint new ABC Chairperson

The ABC is looking for a new chairman, with the present Chair’s tenure to end early next year.

The Turnbull Government has requested the Independent Nomination Panel for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation to conduct a selection process to appoint a new Chairperson to the ABC Board.

The request comes as the term of the current Chairperson, the Hon James Spigelman AC QC, is due to conclude on 31 March 2017.

The Independent Nomination Panel, chaired by Mr Ted Evans AC, will conduct a merit-based selection process for the upcoming vacancy. The selection process will be conducted in accordance with the ABC Act 1983 and will develop a list of suitable candidates which will be provided to Communications Minister Mitch Fifield and Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull for consideration.

The Government thanked Mr Spigelman for his service and congratulated him for his commitment to the ABC Board and the leadership he has provided during a complex period of transition.

James Spigelman led the ABC Board throughout the implementation of efficiencies, decisions on major transmission contracts and the future of ABC Retail, the implementation of significant technology projects, the transformation of its Work, Health and Safety systems and the selection of a new Managing Director. “His significant contribution has ensured that the ABC is well positioned to meet the challenges of a rapidly evolving media landscape,” says a government statement.

Advertisements inviting applications from suitable candidates will be published in early 2017.

Further information for interested applicants will be available on the Department of Communications and the Arts website.


Tags: | |