SACBA Bilby award winners for 2018

The South Australian Community Broadcasting Association annual Bilby Awards recognises excellence in community radio.

Over 60 entries were recieved from the 34 member stations.

John Channon received the ‘Outstanding Contribution to Community Broadcasting in SA”.

John is a rigger who has climbed most community radio towers in SA and has worked for years to help keep stations on air.

SACBA also acknowledged Shiona Marks, who retired from the SACBA board after 12 years as Vice president.

The prestigious Silver Bilby for Lifetime Achievement went to Barbara Baxter, who will have clocked up 27 years of service to the sector in her position at the Community Broadcasting Foundation when she retires at the end of this year.

Winners this year included quiz show, The Brain Chamber (Rox FM), Emily Sutherland, 5MBS for her interview of Adelaide based composer Becky Llewellyn, WOWfm for their local music program, Homebrewed and Scot Curtis for his outside broadcast from the Philippines to witness the life changing work of the Christian Blind Mission.
The full list of winners is here
Best Station ID, Station or Program Promo was won by Josh Mensch & Kyron Weetra, Huge News, Radio Adelaide
The best sponsorship went to, Dion Woodman, 2DRY FM for Kirby’s Car Detailing.
The 2018 Volunteer of the Year is Simeon Spargo, Triple Y Whyalla.

Tags: | | | | | | |