Sarah Chahine the inaugural recipient of the AFTRS Alumni & Industry Scholarship

The Australian Film Television and Radio School (AFTRS) has announced the inaugural recipient of the AFTRS Alumni & Industry Scholarship is screenwriter Sarah Chahine.

The scholarship is an initiative aimed at supporting and developing the career of a gifted storyteller with Chahine a graduate of AFTRS’ Bachelor of Screen: Production (2021) and is currently enrolled in the Master of Screen Arts: Screenwriting program.

Chahine migrated to Australia from Lebanon with her parents when she was 7. At the age of 16 she won a writing competition, was published in an anthology and was invited to read at the Melbourne Writers Festival.

She said:

“It never ceases to amaze me how much support there really is in the world when you open yourself up to the people and opportunities around you. My writing journey, since high school, has been championed by wonderful mentors and people who have helped me achieve things that my younger self only ever dreamed of.

I can’t thank AFTRS and all the contributors to this scholarship fund nearly enough, for being another major supporter in my writing journey, one which would be very difficult to pursue without this generous scholarship. I’m eternally grateful for this opportunity and cannot wait to make the most of every moment.”

Pariya Taherzadeh-Desovski, AFTRS Alumni Advisory Group member said:

“Announced in 2023, AFTRS’ 50th anniversary year, the Alumni and Industry Scholarship Fund emphasises AFTRS’ goal to focus its next 50 years on access, making sure the School, and in turn the greater industry, represents a wide range of diverse lived experiences for all Australians. Sarah Chahine is a talented recipient, showing great potential as a screenwriter.”

The AFTRS Alumni & Industry Scholarship Fund is supported by AFTRS alumni and the wider screen and broadcast industry through tax deductible donations. The AFTRS alumni community has over 5000 practitioners, advocates, and supporters who are invested in the future of Australian stories. More details about donating can be found here:

Pictured L-R: AFTRS Alumni Advisory Group Member Pariya Taherzadeh-Desovski, Scholarship recipient Sarah Chahine and AFTRS Council Chair Rachel Perkins

Tags: | | |