Talent recognised at inaugural First Nations Media Awards

The creativity, talent and professionalism of Australia’s First Nations Media workers and organisations were celebrated at the inaugural First Nations Media Awards.

FNMA general manager Daniel Featherstone says more than 85 nominations were received from across the country. “From emerging cadets and trainees, technicians, reporters and actors to the people who have dedicated a lifetime of work to sharing First Nations stories, the First Nations Media Awards acknowledges and encourages people creating radio, print, screen and online content across our multi-platform sector.”

“It’s all about celebrating the achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander media workers and the organisations that support and distribute their work.”

FNMA Chairperson Dot West was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, recognising her advocacy, leadership and work across multiple platforms over more than 40 years of involvement in the First Nations Media industry.

In her acceptance speech, Dot West said: “It’s the power of the word that resonates with me. Whether it be the power of the word that occurs on stage, whether it occurs on page, or whether it occurs in your ears through the radio, or whether it’s the power of the word that happens on screen, we have the power to make impact and we cannot let that power fall to the wayside. We have got to give it guts. We’ve got to give it earth. We’ve got to give it country. We’ve got to give it culture. We’ve got to give it language. We’ve got to give it everything, in order to ensure that the power of the word resonates with everyone that not only lives in this country, but lives elsewhere, about the First Nations peoples of this country.”

The Outstanding Contributor Award went to Vince Coulthard from Umeewarra Media at Port Augusta in South Australia.
Vince has been the CEO of Umeewarra Aboriginal Media Association for the past 25 years, building the organisation into a modern media service that provides crucial services to the Port Augusta.

The event, that marked the finale of Converge Sydney, also saw the launch of the new indigiTUBE website that brings First Nations produced and presented content together to share music, radio, television, animation and other creative storytelling formats.


First Nations Media Awards Winners 2018

Best Training & Professional Development
Rebekah O’Meara

Best Promotion or Station ID
NITV- Fergus Donald, Belinda Larymore and Adam Manovic

Best Photography Award
Jillian Mundy, Koori Mail, for her photographic series on the traditional Tasmanian Aboriginal practice of muttonbirding.

Best Interview or Oral History Award
Diana Khazequia for Living Black on NITV

Best News or Current Affairs Story
Madeline Haman-Reber and Sylvia Rowley for Guilty of Being Stolen, NITV

Best News or Current Affairs Program
Our Voices – Noongar Radio

Best Music Video
Native Tongue – Mojo Juju

Best Drama or Comedy Award
Dena Curtis and Lois Randall for Grace Beside Me – NITV

Best Sports Program
PAW Media for the Yuendumu Sports Weekend

Best Language/Culture Award
Yarripiri’s Journey – PAW Media

Best Radio Production
Ngaanyatjarra Dreaming Series – NG Media

Best Documentary Award – Long
Wik vs Queensland by Dean Gibson, Helen Morrison and Trish Lake

Best Documentary Award – Short

Mark Watjana from ARDS for Ngambi

Special Recognition Award
Stephen Galabarti Goldsmith in memorium

First Nations Outstanding Contributor Award
Vince Coulthard, Umeewarra Media

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dot West, Goolarri Media


Tags: |