Tanya Wilks and Steve Liebmann among radio’s Australia Day honours

Here’s a list of radio people who received a gong on the Australia Day honours list.

If we’ve missed anyone, please let us know at [email protected].


Ms Tanya Yvette WILKS, Hamilton NSW

Medal of the Order of Australia, OAM

For service to broadcast media, and to the community.


  • Breakfast Host, Triple M Newcastle (formerly KO-FM), since 2000.
  • Breakfast Host, 2HD, 1991-1999.
  • Radio Creative Writer, Journalist, Producer and Announcer, since 1983.


  • Founding Secretary of V.O.C.A.L (Victims of Crime Assistance League) NSW.
  • Supporter and Fund Raiser, Give Me 5 for Kids Campaign, John Hunter Children’s

Hospital, 2009-2019.

  • Volunteer and Supporter, Mark Hughes Foundation.
  • Supporter, Rise for Alex.
  • Supporter, Soul Cafe.
  • Supporter, Westpac Rescue Chopper.

Awards and Recognition include:

  • Best Documentary, Australian Commercial Radio Awards, 2019.
  • Australia Day Ambassador, Maitland, 2017.
  • Multiple Nominee, Australian Commercial Radio Awards, 2000-2022.



Medal of the Order of Australia, OAM

For service to the broadcast media as a journalist.

• Host, Crime Investigation Australia, Foxtel, 2005-2010.
• Presenter, Ten Weekend news bulletins in Sydney, 2006.
• Co-Host, Today, Nine Network, Nine Network, 1990-2005, and
• Anchor, TEN-10 Sydney’s Eyewitness News, 1987-1990.
• Host, 11AM program, Channel 7,

Radio 2UE

Morning Show Host, 2009-2010.

Former Director, News and Public Affairs.

Host, 11AM program, Channel 7, 1976-1981 and Anchor, Sydney evening news.

News Editor and On-Air Presenter, Channel Seven Sydney, c1967.

Presenter, Counter-Terrorism Advertising Campaign, Australian Government, 2002-2003.

Presenter, 2SM, c1976.

Presenter, 2CA Canberra, 1962-1967.

Former Part-Time Presenter, Cooma Radio 2XL.

Awards and Recognition include:

News Presenter of the Year, Australian Commercial Radio Industry.

Penguin Award, Special Recognition for Contribution to News.


Dr Norman Gabriel SWAN Member of the Order of Australia

For significant service to the broadcast media as a science and health commentator.

Australian Broadcasting Corporation – Radio National

  • Broadcaster and Journalist, Science and Health, since 1982.
  • Producer and Presenter, The Health Report, current.
  • Co-Host, Coronacast Podcast, since 2020.
  • General Manager, Radio National 1990-1993.
  • Former Co-Host, Life Matters.
  • Occasional host, RN Breakfast, Late Night Live, Saturday Extra.

Australian Broadcasting Corporation – Television

  • Broadcaster and Journalist, Science and Health, since 1982.
  • Health Reporter, 7:30 Report, current.
  • Guest reporter, Four Corners, current.
  • Commentator and analyst, ABC News, current.
  • Presenter, Invisible Wars.
  • Occasional host, The Virus.
  • Co-Writer and Narrator, The Opposite Sex.

Broadcasting and Publications – Other

  • Former Editor, Choice Health Reader.
  • Co-Founder and Board Member, Tonic Media Network, since 2012.
  • Former Columnist, The Age and Sydney Morning Herald.
  • Former Correspondent, the British Medical Journal, and the Journal of the American Medical Association.
  • Medical Host, The Biggest Loser, Channel Ten, six seasons.
  • Writer and presenter, Invisible Enemies, Channel 4 (United Kingdom) and SBS, 1990.

Health – Other 

  • Board Member, Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth, since 2005.
  • Deputy Director, Melbourne Festival of Ideas, 2012-2013.
  • Rapporteur, Research priority committee, World Health Organisation and the World Bank, early 1990s.
  • Co-Chair, Global Health Minister’s Meeting, West Africa, 2009.
  • Former Ambassador, Avner Foundation, (now Australian Pancreatic Cancer Foundation – PanKind).


  • Fellow, Royal College of Physicians (Glasgow), 2004.
  • Member, Royal College of Physicians (United Kingdom), 1980.
  • Founding Member, Social Issues Committee, Royal Australasian College of Physicians.

Awards and Recognition include:

  • Co-Winner, Barry Williams Award for Skeptical Journalism, Australian Skeptics, 2020.
  • Gold Citation, Media Peace Awards, United Nations Association of Australia.
  • Michael Daly Award for Science Journalism (twice), Australian Government.
  • Gold Walkley, 1988, and three Walkley Awards.
  • Honorary Doctor of Medicine, The University of Sydney, 2006.
  • Academy Medal, Australian Academy of Science, 2004.
  • Inaugural National Press Club Award for Medical Broadcasting, 2003.
  • Media Awards, Colleges of Ophthalmology and General Practice.
  • Australian Radio Producer of the Year, 1984.


Mr Colin McLaurin CAMERON

Award Medal of the Order of Australia  OAM

For service to the broadcast media, and to the community.


  • Volunteer, Richmond River Community Radio Station 88.9FM, since 2010.
  • Volunteer, Salvation Army Door Knock Appeal, 2017-2020.
  • Volunteer Mover, Northern Rivers Rail, 2017-2019.
  • Volunteer, Lifeline Retail Store Lismore, 2016-2018.
  • Volunteer, Northern Rivers Community Transport (now HART), 2012-2014.

Lismore Base Hospital Auxiliary

  • Vice-President, 2019.
  • Treasurer, 2015.
  • Publicity Officer, since 2018.
  • Member, since 2012.
  • Volunteer, since 2012.


  • General Manager, Waringarri Media Aboriginal Corporation 6WR, Western Australia, 2002-2010.
  • Owner/Operator and Founder, Cameron Broadcasting Services Pty Ltd, 1976-1996.
  • Owner/Operator, 3SH Swan Hill, 3CV Central Victoria, and Founder, 3WM Horsham 1976-1996.
  • General Manager 2KA Penrith, 1975.
  • Advertising and Promotions Manager Centrepoint, Sydney 1971-1975.
  • Senior Sales Executive, 2UE Sydney, 1970.
  • Sales Manager, AMV-4 Albury Television Station, 1969-1970.
  • General Manager 3UL Warragul, 1961-1969.
  • Station Manager, 4LG Longreach, 1960-1961.
  • Sales Executive, 2UE Sydney, 1957-1960.
  • Radio Announcer, 2DU Dubbo, 1954-1957.
  • Radio Announcer, 2MG Mudgee, 1953.

Awards and Recognition include:

  • Half Century Certificate and Gold/Black Plaque, Commercial Radio Australia, 2019.
  • Fellow, Australian Institute of Management, 1996.
  • Fellow, Advertising Institute of Australia, 1974.

See our profile on Colin.


Mr John Maxwell MacKENZIE

Medal of the Order of Australia, OAM

Cairns QLD

For service to broadcast media.

Radio Broadcasting

Talk Show Host, Easy Mix 846/4CA FM, since 1999.

Talk Show Host, Easy Mix 846  (formerly 4CA Cairns), 1983-1999.


Involved with the establishment of the Cairns Police Citizens Youth Club



Mr Philip Stretton WILLIAMS 

Member of the Order of Australia, AM

Wallaroo, NSW

For significant service to the broadcast media as a presenter and journalist.

Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)

  • Part-time Foreign Correspondent, since 2022.
  • Chief Foreign Correspondent, 2016-2021.
  • ABC Europe Correspondent and London Bureau Chief, 2008-2016, and Correspondent, 2001-2005.
  • Former Chief Political Correspondent, ABC Radio, 2000.
  • Former Diplomatic and Defence Correspondent.
  • ABC Tokyo Correspondent, 1990-1993.
  • Founding Producer, Australian Story.
  • Former Reporter, 7:30 ReportCountrywide.
  • Film Editor and  Journalist, 1975-2021.


  • Ochberg Fellowship, Dart Centre for Journalism and Trauma, 2006.
  • Singer, Willie and the Correspondents, 20 years.

Tags: | |