NZ Radio Awards winners announced

Mike Hosking and Newstalk ZB were the big winners at the NZ Radio Awards announced today.

The awards were announced online after Covid caused the organising committee to move to a virtual presentation.

The Station of the Year, Network / Metropolian Station of the Year, was Newstalk ZB, while the Sir Paul Holmes Broadcaster of the Year Award, went to Mike Hosking for the third time.

Hosking, who celebrated 40 years in radio broadcasting this year accepted his award saying,  “Thank you to everyone who makes the Mike Hosking Breakfast what it is. What I’ve enjoyed in this very difficult time for our country is how wonderfully well the radio industry is doing. 

“I put it down to the magic and simplicity of radio –the ability to turn the radio on wherever you are and hear an opinion, an idea, some information, some entertainment – that’s what makes our industry so wonderful.”

NZME Chief Radio Officer, Jason Winstanley, says he couldn’t be prouder of the award results. “Our teams are incredibly hard working – so much goes on behind the scenes to present the world class news content and entertainment that our radio hosts and teams broadcast across Aotearoa each and every day. To be recognised like this, with such huge success in tonight’s awards is so exciting, and truly humbling.”