Triple M is to be honoured at the 2023 APRA Music Awards

Triple M will receive the 2023 Licensee of the Year Award from APRA AMCOS, ahead of the 2023 APRA Music Awards this month, for its long-standing commitment to supporting Australian music.

The award is assessed by APRA’s Board of Writer and Publisher Directors and designed to reward licensee groups for good music citizenship.

Triple M was selected against the criteria of consistent compliance and demonstrated support of music such as the presentation of local content or innovative use of music.

Triple M has been a staunch advocate of Australian music and artists since its launch in 1980 and its 49 stations continue to feature homegrown music from established artists to the newcomers.

APRA AMCOS CEO, Dean Ormston, says, “Congratulations to Licensee of the Year, Triple M, for their unwavering support of Australian songwriters and music – both new and classic.

“In a very competitive media landscape, we want to honour Triple M for giving homegrown artists a prominent place on the airwaves, which is proven to be appreciated by radio listeners and music fans alike.”

SCA Chief Content Officer, Dave Cameron, says, “Triple M is honoured to be named as Licensee of the Year at the 2023 APRA Music Awards.  For more than 40 years Triple M has proudly and passionately supported Australian music which is at the core of its DNA and makes the network unique in the radio landscape.

“We look forward to continuing to bring our listeners a strong and diverse line up of Aussie music for many years to come. 

“This award is credit to the dedicated music directors and programmers of Triple M, past and present. My sincere congratulations to our Head of Music Mickey Maher and the entire Triple M music team at SCA who have been instrumental in supporting homegrown artists.”

The 2023 APRA Music Awards will be held on Thursday 27 April at ICC Sydney.