TV, newspaper and radio CEOs to unite in Canberra

Chief executives from Australia’s major commercial and subscription TV, newspaper and radio companies will converge on Canberra in an unprecedented show of unity on Wednesday to demonstrate support for the Federal Government’s broadcast and media reform package.
Prime Minister, Malcolm Turnbull,  Communications Minister, Senator Mitch FifieldPeter Tonagh (CEO Foxtel), Michael Miller (Executive Chair News Corp Australia), Tim Worner (CEO Seven West Media), Greg Hywood (CEO Fairfax Media) and Adam Lang (COO Macquarie Media) will address the summit to be hosted by David Koch (Seven Network).

The industry is making an unprecedented show of support to send a strong message to Parliament that urgent changes are required to modernise Australia’s outdated media laws.

​Earlier this month it was revealed the federal budget would bring media reform across a range of areas including the abolition of licence fees and relaxation of ownership rules.
At the time, independent Senator Nick Xenophon, said he would support the government’s media reforms if it improves the ability of Australian media to compete with digital media companies such as Facebook and Google “who don’t employ one journalist in this country,” and if it improves the quality of journalism, especially in regional media.
More than 25 Australian media industry CEOs will attend the summit on the future of the media, including:

​Hugh Marks, CEO, Nine Entertainment
Tim Worner, CEO, Seven West Media
Paul Anderson, CEO, Ten Network
Ian Audsley, CEO, Prime Media Group
Andrew Lancaster, CEO, WIN Corporation
Harold Mitchell, Chair, FreeTV Australia
Pam Longstaff,Acting CEO, FreeTV Australia
Peter Tonagh, CEO, Foxtel
Tony Shepherd, AO, Chair, ASTRA
Andrew Maiden, CEO, ASTRA
Greg Hywood, CEO, Fairfax Media
Michael Miller, Executive Chair, News Corp Australasia
Grant Blackley, CEO, Southern Cross Austereo
Cathy O’Connor, CEO, NOVA Entertainment
Rob Atkinson, CEO, ARN
Russell Tate, Executive Chair, Macquarie Media
Adam Lang, COO Macquarie Media & CRA Chairman
Rowley Patterson, Chair, ACE Broadcasters
Grant Cameron, CEO, Grant Broadcasters
Ron Camplin, Owner, Bathurst Broadcasters
Stephen Sweeney, CEO, SEN
Joan Warner, CEO, Commercial Radio Australia

Tags: | | | | |