Walkley Foundation announces the June Andrews awards

Applications opened today for a range of Australian journalism awards, prizes and scholarships, with all winners to be announced at the Walkley Foundation Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism in June.
There are 14 journalism awards and two scholarships.
Among the awards are four that have each existed for several years – renamed in 2020 to acknowledge June Andrews, a major donor to the Walkley Foundation.
June Andrews, who died in 2017, leaving the foundation a $1 million bequest, was the sister-in-law of Sir William Walkley, from whom the foundation takes its name.
In 1956, Sir William founded what are now known as the Walkley Awards and on his death 20 years later, he left a bequest to maintain them.
The June Andrews awards will be:
● The June Andrews Award for Freelance Journalist of the Year
● The June Andrews Award for Women’s Leadership in Media
● The June Andrews Award for Arts Journalism
● The June Andrews Awards for Industrial Relations Reporting in memory of Helen O’Flynn and Alan Knight
Entries are now open for these and 10 more awards and prizes:
● Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards , including seven categories:

  • Shortform Journalism
  • Longform Feature or Special
  • Coverage of Community and Regional Affairs
  • Visual Storytelling
  • Public Service Journalism
  • Student Journalist of the Year
  • Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year

● The Our Watch Award
● Media Diversity Australia Award
● The Pascall Prize

There also are two scholarships on offer:
● The Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship , supported by Anita Jacoby with the Nine Network and AFTRS
● The WIN NEWS Scholarship
Also in 2020, the Walkley Foundation is offering a total grant pool of $110,000 for public interest journalism through three grant opportunities, including grants for regional and Asian journalism.
Applications close on April 26, and the winners of these grants will also be announced at the Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism.
Walkley Foundation Chief Executive, Louisa Graham, says “Each of these awards, grants and scholarships back the work of journalists around the country.
“Through generous bequests – as well as private and corporate philanthropy – the Walkley Foundation furthers quality journalism with these awards, grants and scholarships.
“New stories will be told and great journalism will be recognised. The Walkley Foundation’s work continues to be critical in these challenging times for journalism.
The Walkley Foundation Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism will be on Wednesday June 17 in Sydney. 

  Post your job, make sure you are logged in.

Subscribe to the radioinfo daily flash briefing podcast on these platforms: Acast, iTunes Podcasts, Podtail, Spotify, Google Podcasts, TuneIn, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Ask Alexa: ‘Alexa, play radioinfo flash briefing’ or ask Google Home: “Hey Google, play the latest radioinfo podcast briefing.”