Adam Harvey and Kristi Melville win Radio Walkleys

ABC Radio’s AM reporter Adam Harvey and RN Earshot producer Kristi Melville have won the Radio/Audio categories in this year’s Walkley Awards.

Adam Harvey, AM, ABC, “The Survivors of ISIS

Kirsti Melville, Earshot, ABC Radio National, “The Ghosts of Wittenoom

Stan Grant’s film about Adam Goodes, The Australian Dream (GoodThing Productions, Passion Pictures UK and ABC), was named the winner of the Walkley Documentary Award.

The senior award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism went to Sue Spencer, pioneering producer, documentary-maker and mentor who has made it her mission to speak truth to power.

The 64th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism were presented in 30 categories. 800 journalists and media identities gathered at the International Convention Centre Sydney for the gala event, with the support of the NSW Government.

Anthony Dowsley and Patrick Carlyon won Australian the Gold Walkley for their reporting of the “Lawyer X Informer Scandal” for the Herald Sun.

Chair of the Walkley Judging Board, Lenore Taylor, praised the range and depth of this year’s winners. 

“At a time when our profession is under threat from upended business models, legislative overreach and those who are very deliberately seeking to de-legitimise our work, it is more important than ever to promote and celebrate the very best of what we do. We all know that a Walkley Award is the measure of Australian journalistic excellence. Congratulations to all this year’s winners.”

The full list of winners is here.



Tags: | |