CBAA Awards finalists have been announced

The finalists for the 2019 CBAA Community Radio Awards have been announced.

More than 95 finalists span the 26 award categories, and represent a diverse cross section of the community radio sector.

A panel of almost 120 judges will select winners for each category in the coming weeks.

2019 CBAA Community Radio Awards Finalists

Best New Radio Program

  • From Paddocks to Pride (OCR FM, Colac, NSW)
  • Queer For Your Ears (Eastside Radio, Sydney, NSW)
  • That’s What I Call Science (Edge Radio, Hobart, TAS)
  • Why Volunteer (8CCC Community Radio, Alice Springs, NT)

Best Online Content

  • 3ZZZ Radio Station by Russell Anderson (3ZZZ, Melbourne, VIC)
  • Last of the Rabbit Proof Fence Heroine’s Passes (Ngaarda Media, Roebourne, WA)
  • North East Arnhem Land with Mon (Gove FM, Nhulunbuy, NT)
  • Slightly Odway (RTRFM 92.1, Perth, WA)

Best Radio Program: Music

  • Mediterranean Mix with Dimitri & Bex (Alive905, Sydney, NSW)
  • Revolver – A History of Feminist Music (RTRFM 92.1, Perth, WA)
  • Theatre Track (3MBS Fine Music Melbourne, Melbourne, VIC)

Best Radio Program: Talks

  • Another World (Eastside Radio, Sydney, NSW)
  • ArtSwank (MAINfm, Castlemaine, VIC)
  • Cool Climate Living (2MCE, Bathurst, NSW)
  • Little Fictions (2RPH, Sydney, NSW)
  • Talk the Talk (RTRFM 92.1, Perth, WA)

Best Special Event Broadcast

  • 89.9LightFM Miracles Day (89.9 LightFM, Melbourne, VIC)
  • Balit Narrun (Triple R FM, Melbourne, VIC)
  • Mardi Gras Special 2019 (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)

Best Station Fundraising Campaign

  • A Tribute To Aretha Franklin (PBS 106.7FM, Melbourne, VIC)
  • FBi Turns 15 (FBi Radio, Sydney, NSW)
  • Hope 103.2 Team (Hope 103.2, Sydney, NSW)

Best Station Production

  • Mandy Sponsorship Announcement (Triple R FM, Melbourne, VIC)
  • Orange Show (20CW FM107.5 Orange, Orange, NSW)
  • Will Ryan (FBi Radio, Sydney, NSW)

Contribution to Australian Music: Initiative

  • Dance Class (FBi Radio, Sydney, NSW)
  • In The Pines 2019  (RTRFM 92.1, Perth, WA)
  • Music Masala, A Spicy Blend of Music and Life (Radio 4EB, Brisbane, QLD)

Contribution to Australian Music: Radio Program

  • BRL (897fm, Perth, WA)
  • Take One (Eastside Radio, Sydney, NSW)
  • The Dotted Line | Dotted Live (3MDR, Melbourne, VIC)
  • The Map (Edge Radio, Hobart, TAS)
  • This Is Our Sound (PBAFM, Adelaide, SA)

Excellence in Community Engagement

  • Karijini Experience, Onslow Rodeo, Ngaarda Oke, Harvey Norman Rodeo (Ngaarda Media, Roebourne, WA)
  • School of Thought (897fm, Perth, WA)
  • VOX FM Disability Broadcasters (Illawarra Community FM Broadcasters / VOX FM)

Excellence in Creative Audio

  • A Christmas Carol (4MBS Classic FM, Brisbane, QLD)
  • History Lab (2SER, Sydney, NSW)
  • Keeping Mum (Radio Adelaide, Adelaide, SA)
  • Let’s Call Australia Home (Fraser Coast Community Radio, Fraser Coast, QLD)

Excellence in Digital Media

  • All Things Equal (2SER, Sydney, NSW)
  • Eurovision Top 100 (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)
  • Wangki Radio (Wangki Radio, Fitzroy Crossing, WA)

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting

  • Ireland Calling (2RDJ, Sydney, NSW)
  • Latin Studio (897fm, Perth, WA)
  • ‘The Living Safely’ Media Campaign (2MFM Muslim Community Radio, Sydney, NSW)

Excellence in Indigenous Broadcasting

  • Andrea Myers 7 Habits Of Highly Effective Fitzroy and Law and Order (Wangki Radio, Fitzroy Crossing, WA)
  • Chris Crebbin and Victor Weetra (Radio Adelaide, Adelaide, SA)Carnarvon Lock Hospital Centennial (Ngaarda Media, Roebourne, WA)
  • Gurraŋay Matha on Radio (Yolŋu Radio, Darwin, NT)
  • Koori Shout-Out – Phoenix FM (106.7 Phoenix FM, Bendigo, VIC)Excellence in Indigenous Engagement
  • Wangki Radio 936 AM, Fitzroy Crossing, WA

Excellence in Innovative Programming and Content

  • Checkpoint (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)
  • Choices and Rights – 3CR’s Disability Day 2018 (3CR, Melbourne, VIC)
  • The Middle (2SER, Sydney, NSW)
  • Three D Radio Hillbilly Hoot (Three D Radio, Adelaide, SA)

Excellence in Journalism

  • Chris Crebbin (Radio Adelaide, Adelaide, SA)
  • Hooked on JOY 94.9 (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)
  • Police, Perverts & Public Exposure: Uncovering Byron’s Nude Beach (Bay FM 2BAY,  Byron Bay, NSW)
  • Unions March (2SER, Sydney, NSW)

Excellence in Music Presenting

  • Alan Gilmour (TodaysCountry94one 2CCM, Gosford, NSW)
  • Live and Local (897fm, Perth, WA)
  • Road to Bluesfest (Triple H 100.1FM, Sydney, NSW)
  • The Yard (4ZZZ, Brisbane, QLD)

Excellence in News & Current Affairs Programming

  • Another World (Eastside Radio, Sydney, NSW)
  • Dylan Storer – The Edge (Wangki Radio, Fitzroy Crossing, WA)
  • Parnpinjinya Demolition (Ngaarda Media, Roebourne, NT)
  • Saturday Magazine (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)
  • The Wire (Radio Adelaide, Adelaide, SA)

Excellence in Outside Broadcasting

  • Ballina Meet the Candidates 2019 (Bay FM 2BAY, Byron Bay, NSW)
  • Broken Heel Festival (2DRY FM, Broken Hill, NSW)
  • In The Pines 2019  (RTRFM 92.1, Perth, WA)
  • Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition (3MBS Fine Music Melbourne, Melbourne, VIC)
  • World Jazz Day (MBS Light, Brisbane, QLD)

Excellence in Technical Innovation

  • Creative Automation Solution by Alastair Ling (Edge Radio, Hobart, TAS)
  • Peter Worthington (2RPH, Sydney, NSW)
  • Podcast Studio (2SER, Sydney, NSW)

Excellence in Technical Services

  • Jim Bickers (Fleurieu FM, Victor Harbor, SA)
  • Matthew Brokenbrough – Playout Software (Alive905, Sydney, NSW)
  • Mohammad Ishtiaq – Transforming 2XX (2 Double X, Canberra, ACT)
  • Peak Achievements (Alpine Radio, Mount Beauty, VIC)

Excellence in Training

  • 2NURFM News Student Integrated Learning Program (2NURFM, Newcastle, NSW)
  • Edge Radio 99.3FM Training: Hannah Rogers and Alastair Ling (Edge Radio, Hobart, TAS)
  • Hear Me Roar (SYN Media, Melbourne, VIC)

Outstanding Small Station Award

  • 4CRM -Something for Everyone (4CRM, Mackay, QLD)
  • Broken Hill FM Assoc Inc (2DRY FM, Broken Hill, NSW)
  • Ryde Regional Radio Co-operative Limited (2RRR, Sydney, NSW)

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution

  • Bill Hodgson – Hills Radio 88.9FM (Hills Radio 88.9FM, Adelaide, SA)
  • Carol North-Samardzic – 89.3 FM 2GLF (89.3 FM 2GLF, Sydney, NSW)
  • Maurice Besgrove – Triple T Community Radio (Triple T Community Radio 4TTT, Townsville, QLD)

Outstanding Youth Contribution

  • Alex Dislakis – JOY 94.9 (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)
  • Laura Johnston – Valley FM 89.5 (Valley FM 89.5, Canberra, ACT)
  • Max Bruckmann – 2REM (2REM, Albury, NSW)
  • Melanie Christodoulou – Eastside Radio (Eastside Radio, Sydney, NSW)
  • Sandy Al-Aweik – Muslim Community Radio 2MFM (Muslim Community Radio 2MFM, Sydney, NSW)

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming

  • Across The Park (2SER, Sydney, NSW)
  • Kick Like A Girl (Triple R FM, Melbourne, VIC)
  • The Bench (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC

Winners for these, as well as the Station Leadership, Michael Law and Tony Staley Awards will be announced at the 2019 CBAA Community Radio Awards Gala Dinner, on Saturday, 26 October 2019 in Melbourne.




Tags: |