Commercial Radio courts politicians over cocktails in Canberra

Each year commercial network chiefs band together under the CRA umbrella and  make their way to Canberra to rub shouders with lawmakers and put the industry’s case to them

New CRA Chair Grant Blackley, the CRA Board and CEO Joan Warner hosted the annual commercial radio cocktail function. And there was much to discuss about the future of radio as the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) investigates the impact of the tech giants such as Google.Apple and Facebook. 

MC of the function was Triple M Melbourne’s Eddie McGuire who reminded the gathered politicians of the reach of commercial radio throughout Australia. 
Eddie explained to all who attended which including Communications Minister, Mitch Fifield, Treasurer Josh Frydenberg, Opposition Communications minister Michelle Rowland, and Senators Pauline Hanson, Derryn Hinch, David Leyonhjelm plus others, that more than 80% of Australians listen to commercial radio and that despite increased competition, young people are listening to radio. 

In a subtle reminder that this was a “commercial” radio function, the suggestion was made that In an all-important election year, all sides of politics could reach voters through their local commercial radio station.
Eddie recalled growing up and listening to Derryn Hinch on radio and thanked him for his service to the radio industry and now in politics.  Eddie quoted the power of radio that “speaks to millions but retains its intimacy”.  He explained listening to radio in the car was still something families do together and it sparked discussions.   
Communications Minister, Mitch Fifield spoke at the function and said it was finally good to have a Melbourne host for the CRA function in Eddie McGuire, following on from previous hosts Ray Hadley, Alan Jones and Ben Fordham.  The Minister also said he thought Eddie would gain a lot more listeners in Melbourne if he wasn’t the Chairman of the Collingwood Football Club.

Below: Nova Entertainment CEO Cathy O’Connor, Commonwealth Treasurer, Josh Frydenberg, Macquarie Media CEO, Adam Lang

Below: CRA CEO Joan Warner, Eddie McGuire, Senator Pauline Hanson


Tags: | | | | |