The finalists for the 65th Walkley’s have been announced

The Walkley Foundation has announced the finalists for the 65th annual Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.
The Walkley Awards are the pre-eminent national journalism awards presented annually in Australia. They recognise and reward the best in the craft and set the industry standard for excellence.  
Chief executive of the Walkley Foundation, Louisa Graham, said:

“This year’s finalists continue to impress with courageous acts of journalism. We had hoped that, despite the uncertainty created by COVID-19, we would be able to come together in person to celebrate the hard work, innovation and resilience shown by our industry over the past 12 months. But to safeguard the health and safety of our journalists, partners and staff we will celebrate virtually. Wherever you are, please join us in raising a toast to this outstanding journalism, which serves the public by informing during crises, sparking inquiries, prompting changes to the law and holding the powerful to account. Cheers!” 
Finalists are selected by panels of peers on the basis of overall merit and journalistic excellence. The Walkley Foundation encourages a diversity of entries from journalists around Australia. This year we received 1408 entries.
Radio/Audio finalists include
Award Partner ABC


  • Rachael Brown and ABC Trace Team, ABC, “Trace: The Informer
  • Nicola Harvey, Nakkiah Lui and Miranda Tapsell, Audible, “Debutante
  • Hedley Thomas, Slade Gibson and Peter Murphy, The Australian, “The Night Driver




Subscribe to the radioinfo flash briefing podcast on these platforms: Acast, Apple iTunes Podcasts, Podtail, Spotify, Google Podcasts, TuneIn, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Ask Alexa: ‘Alexa, play radioinfo flash briefing’ or ask Google Home: “Hey Google. Play the latest Radioinfo flash briefing podcast.”

  Post your job, make sure you are logged in.



Tags: | |