Media heavyweights join the APA judging panel

The Australian Podcast Awards have announced its 2020 judging panel, a list of global and local industry heavyweights who will together determine the best Australian podcasts of 2020.

Media personalities and podcast creators Osher Günsberg and Georgia Love join this year’s judging panel, along with News Corp’s National Entertainment Editor, Jonathan Moran, The Project’s (Network 10) Planning Producer, Sean Marsicovetere, and The Sydney Morning Herald / The Age’s Technology and Podcast Reporter, Peter Wells.
The APAs independent panel also unites talent from the nation’s leading podcast production houses including: ABC Audio, Acast, ARN / iHeartRadio, Mushroom Group, Nova Entertainment, Piccolo Podcasts, PodcastOne Australia, SoundCartel and Spotify. Joining local representatives on this year’s panel are international figures including the founder of International Podcast Day David Lee and US-based podcasters Lauren Ober (American Public Media) and Andrea Silenzi (Spotify).
Chair of Judges at the APA’s, Sophie Harper, said: In order to celebrate the most interesting, most exciting and best local podcasting content and talent this year, we have assembled a world-class panel of local and international judges with a diverse range of experiences, interests and perspectives. In each of the 20 categories, judges will determine what is the most compelling show in their chosen genres. Now in its fifth year, the APA’s continues to celebrate the sustained growth of the Australian podcasting industry.”
Osher Günsberg ,said, “ Nothing beats the authenticity and intimacy of podcasting. I’ve been podcasting for seven years now and in that time I have seen Australia become a world leader in the format. I am so excited to unearth the next generation of podcasting talent as a judge for this year’s Australian Podcast Awards.”
The judging panel of industry experts will determine nominees from the provided category shortlists. Category winners will then be announced at a virtual event in November.

The full panel of judges is:
Sophie Harper – Host, Not By Accident Podcast
Bethany Atkinson-Quinton – Audio Producer, The Wheeler Centre / Broadwave
Galen Beebe – Editor, Bello Collective
Courtney Carthy – Creative Director – Podcasts, Mushroom Group & Nearly Media
Rachel Corbett – Head of Podcasts & Digital, Nova Entertainment
Andrew Davies – Digital & Engagement Editor, ABC Audio Studios
Linh Do – Fellow, Bertha Foundation
Alice Fraser – Comedian
David Gertler – Event Founder, Australian Podcast Awards
Andi Horvath – Podcast Coordinator/ Executive Producer, University of Melbourne
Adam Jaffrey – Strategy Director, Wavelength
Kristofor Lawson – Lawson Media
Corey Layton – Head of Commercial Audio & Podcasts, ARN/iHeartPodcast Network Australia
Dave Lee – Founder, International Podcast Day
Louisa Lim – University of Melbourne
Andrew Menczel – Founder, Piccolo Podcasts
Lauren Ober – Host of Spectacular Failures, American Public Media
Richard Palmer – Director, Market Development (APAC), Triton Digital
Lindsay Patterson – Producer, Co-Founder, Tumble Media
Yenn Purkis – Author and advocate
Mitch Secrett – Omny Studio Product Manager, Triton Digital
Andrea Silenzi – Production Consultant, Spotify
Sharon Taylor – Managing Director, Triton Digital
Jay Walkerden – Owner, Podshape
Peter Wells – Podcast Columnist, Nine Entertainment Co.
Helen Zaltzman – Podcast Host, The Allusionist
Claudia Taranto – Senior Producer, Features, ABC Radio National
Amanda Meade – Media Correspondent, Guardian Australia
Alicia Sometimes – Writer & broadcaster
Jon Tjhia – Senior Digital Editor, The Wheeler Centre
Ronsley Vaz – Founder, We Are Podcast
Kellie Riordan – Podcast Commissioner
Sandra Lopez-Monsalve – Technical Director/Producer/Audio Engineer, PRX
Benny Eggmolesse – Director, Ice Cream Productions
Jordon Lott – Content Development Manager, Acast
Adam Rollo – Content Development Manager, Acast
Rebekah Clark – Features Writer, ICON and GRAZIA Australia
Jonathon Moran – Chief Entertainment Writer, The Daily Telegraph/The Sunday Telegraph
Chris Ashmore – Producer & Head of Podcast Partnerships, SoundCartel
Peggy Sutton – Managing Partner, Somethin’ Else
Sean Marsicovetere – Forward Planning Producer, The Project (Network 10)
Daniel Browning – Editor Indigenous Radio, ABC Audio Studios
Osher Günsberg – Podcast Host, Better Than Yesterday and DadPod
Georgia Love – Podcast Host, Everyone Has An Ex
Cosima Toni – Television Producer, Nine Network
Ali Aitken – Podcast Producer, Network 10
Tracy Sheen – Digital Guide, Unusual Comms
Prithi Dey – Podcast Partner Lead, Spotify
Kane Reiken – Digital Commercial Director, Nova Entertainment
Ruby Teys – Executive podcast producer, Nova Entertainment



Subscribe to the radioinfo flash briefing podcast on these platforms: Acast, Apple iTunes Podcasts, Podtail, Spotify, Google Podcasts, TuneIn, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Ask Alexa: ‘Alexa, play radioinfo flash briefing’ or ask Google Home: “Hey Google. Play the latest Radioinfo flash briefing podcast.”

  Post your job, make sure you are logged in.