More Radio Award finalists announced

Finalists in three more categories for the 2002 Australian Commercial Radio Awards have been announced. They are the Brian White Memorial Award, Engineering Excellence and Best Music Director.

CEO of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said the Brian White Memorial Award is a significant category and recognizes excellence in radio journalism.

“The recipient of this Award must demonstrate the best in radio journalism given the category has been named in honour of one of the industry’s most respected radio journalists,” said Warner.

“All the finalists this year represent the highest standards in their field given there were a record number of entries. Over 1227 entries were received
nationally – up from 801 last year.”

The Awards, which celebrate the best of commercial radio, are in their 14th year, and have been expanded this year to include an inaugural Listeners’ Choice Awards and Commercial Radio Hall of Fame. They will be held at the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on October 19. For the full list click the link.

Nominees for Most Popular Station Manager will be announced soon and finalists for the Best Station Sales Achievement are yet to be determined.

In the three categories announced this week the finalists are:

Brian White Memorial rAward
Metro: Corryn McKay 2GB 873 , Neil Mitchell 3AW M, Paul Murray Nova 96.9
Provincial: The 2ST News Team 2ST; Brett Williamson, Peter Davidson, Symone Wilson, Luke Bradnam, Richard Clare at Hot 100 ; Greg Henricks C91.3

Country: Barbara Metsemakers 2MG/Real FM ; Phil Cole 1503 2BS Gold

Best Music Director
Metro: Jeff Ross Fox FM ; Dan Bessant Nova 969 ; Ron Stanton Nova 100

Provincial: Jacqui Kassulke Sea FM Central Coast ; Peter Davidson Hot 100; Keiron Atkinson Sea FM Gold Coast
Country: Mark Littler 96.5/98 FM ; Dave McClung Rok FM ; Ben Hope 1503 2BS Gold & 99.3 B-Rock FM

Engineering Excellence
Daniel Chalmers 4MMM and Jason Davis 1503 2BS Gold & 99.3 B-Rock FM