Nick Erby nominated for two Achiever Awards

Veteran country music broadcaster, Nick Erby, has received two nominations in the Country Music Association of Australia’s prestigious industry voted ‘Achiever Awards’.

The nomination’s are in the major Industry Achiever and Media Achiever categories.

Nick Erby returned to commercial radio after a four year break last Christmas to re-establish CMR (Country Music Radio) on the 16 stations of the Super Radio Network. CMR (formerly known as Hoedown) was Australia’s flagship country music program for 35 years until its cancellation in 2000.

Again based in Australia’s country music capital, Tamworth, Erby presents CMR every Saturday and Sunday night via satellite to network stations including 2SM Sydney, 2HD Newcastle and stations in NSW and Queensland.

“I’m very grateful for the recognition given with the nominations,” Nick Erby has told radioinfo.

“CMR has been building well through the year, and the audience reaction is very strong, particularly for the new music we push.”

CMR is an information based program, playing 70% current country releases, with interviews, specials, listener participation and event coverage.

This year, Erby produced the national radio coverage of the Toyota Golden Guitar Awards for the CMAA, which CMR broadcast. He will be at the Toyota National Country Music Muster (Gympie) at the end of this month (where he is the senior main stage compere) and CMR will broadcast the Telstra Country Wide Southern Star Awards (the Independent Country Music Awards of Australia) from Mildura Victoria in October. CMR will also broadcast highlights of the CMAA Achiever Awards.

Nick Erby is a previous winner of the Industry Achiever Award.

The CMAA Achiever Awards compliment the Golden Guitar Awards, with presentations in a number of industry voted categories, covering industry and media people, record companies and publishers, retailers, producers, engineers, cover artists and there are two entertainer of the year awards.

The Achiever Awards will be presented at the Canterbury Hurlstone Park RSL Club in Sydney on Monday 13 September.