Pete Murray and Guy Sebastian to perform at Commercial Radio Awards

Pete Murray and Guy Sebastian, two of the year’s most successful artists played on commercial radio, will perform at the 2004 Australian Commercial Radio Awards on October 16.

Human Nature and up-and-coming soul singer Nessa Morgan will also showcase their talent at the commercial radio industry’s night of nights.

Austereo’s Kyle Sandilands will host the 16th annual radio awards at the Gold Coast Convention Centre in front of an audience of more than 800 people. While filming some advance segments for the awards ceremony presentation Kyle had to get dunked in the ocean seven times (pictured above).

It is Kyle’s second turn as host of the awards, which honour excellence in radio broadcasting across music, talk, sport and entertainment.

“I love the awards – they’re the Logies of the radio industry and I’m very aware I’m going to be hosting to a room full of professional speakers,” says Sandilands.

Following 1200 entries, finalists from Australia’s 257 country, provincial and metropolitan commercial radio stations will vie for awards in 28 categories.

Both Pete Murray and Guy Sebastian – along with Shannon Noll, Jet and the John Butler Trio – are also in the running for the Best New Australian Artist on Commercial Radio Award.

Commercial Radio Australia CEO Joan Warner has told radioinfo: “Commercial radio and our listeners continue to be strong supporters of these new Australian artists who have broken through during the past 12 months. 2004 has been one of the best years ever for radio – so the industry is looking forward to a big night where we can have some fun and celebrate.”

Pete Murray, whose album “Feeler” has gone five times platinum, will perform at the radio awards on his return from a tour of the UK, while Guy Sebastian’s new single “Out With My Baby” was the number one most added track to radio playlists when it was released and this week debuted at number one.

A number of personalities will present awards, including 2GB’s Alan Jones and Ray Hadley; Moyra MacGregor and Paul Gale from 90.9 Sea FM; B105FM’s funny man Jamie Dunn; Mike Fitzpatrick from Triple M’s breakfast show, The Cage; Sammy and Jason (Mix 106.5); Paul Murray, Bianca Dye and Dave “Rabbit” Rabbett (Nova 969) and news presenter Steve Blanda (2UE).

Special guest Clive James will present the Hall of Fame award to recognise a lifetime contribution to radio as well as Best Talk Presenter and the Brian White Award, while Federal Tourism and Small Business Minister Joe Hockey will present the Best Current Affairs Commentator, Best News Presenter and Best Community Service Awards.