Community Radio broadcasters recognised with OAMs

Among a range of radio broadcasters recognised in this year’s Australia Day honours list are three community broadcasters.

Adrian Lipscomb has been awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to the community of Bellingen. Mr Lipscomb has served as chairperson, director, volunteer, and on-air presenter with the local community radio station 2bbb-fm and has been involved with the station for over two decades.

Terri Nathalie Adams was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to the broadcast media as a volunteer radio presenter. Mrs Adams has served as a volunteer presenter, newsreader and member of the Board of Management at 88.3 Southern FM Radio, since 1995.

Peter Tak-Sum Ho was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in the General Division (AM) for significant service to civil and structural engineering, and to professional organisations. Dr Tak-Sum Ho served as President of Radio 4EBFM from 2000-2005, as Board Member from 1998-2005 and was appointed as a life member in 2014. He is also a broadcaster with the Cantonese Group, served as President of the Chinese Ethnic Broadcasting Association of Queensland (CEBAQ) from 1995-1998 and as Committee Member from 1990-1998 and was an Executive Committee Member of National Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasters’ Council (NEMBC) from 2001-2005.

Read our separate story about 7THE Technical and Training Officer Jim Parish here, and other radio broadcasters honoured with awards here.


Tags: | |