Eurovision digital radio winner announced

The SBS Eurovision Digital Radio channel has put its own spin on the world’s biggest song contest, with a competition to find out which famous Aussies would make the ultimate supergroup, and what their band name would be. The results showed just how passionately Australia feels about Eurovision, with a massive 950 entries. And the winner is…“Ooh La Roo” 


The SBS Eurovision judges loved this pithy play on words, and the sheer beauty of the band which featured gorgeous Aussie pop icons Delta Goodrem, Guy Sebastian, Natalie Basingthwaite and Anthony Calleja.


As a reward for their efforts, the creators of Ooh La Roo get to watch the Eurovision Finals in style, with a home entertainment package including a HD 3D TV, Digital Radio Hi-Fi and Blu-Ray Home Theatre System – all installed in their home ready for the Finals!


Runner up winner “AC/BGs” with band members Angus Young, Bon Scott, Maurice Gibb and Barry Gibb pays homage to Australia’s colourful rock n roll history.


Honourable mention band concoctions include: 2Birds and 2 Blokes, Austastique, The Wiggle Wobbles (with Rolf Harris & the Wiggles), and Cooee, Shame, Please Explain?


Pop, rock, and cultural icons Kylie Minogue, John Farnham, Jimmy Barnes and Dame Edna Everage featured heavily in the voting.


SBS is still in the midst of its month-long celebration Eurovision, with the song contest stars and music featuring on TV, digital radio and online, including SBS’s pop-up digital radio station ‘SBS Eurovision’ playing non-stop Eurovision hits! 


SBS will also broadcast the finals direct from Dusseldorf.  Over three nights, tune in to follow all the glamour and glitz, heartbreak and happiness that the world’s largest song contest has to offer, as we join commentators Julia Zemiro and Sam Pang at the Eurovision Semi-finals on 11 and 13 May; and the Grand Final to decide the 2011 Winner, on Sunday 15th of May from Dusseldorf, Germany.


‘SBS Eurovision’ runs until 29 May. Visit he link below for more details.