Networks proud of their ACRAs finalists

It’s deju vu for 2CC’s Drive Show host Mike Welsh, a hat trick for MCM Entertainment, great recognition for NT Broadcasters and a record for AFTRS graduates in this year’s ACRAs finalists list.

Proud networks have sent accolades to their successful staff through radioinfo.



It is with great excitement that NT Broadcasters, part of Grant Broadcasters family owned network, to announce that they have been nominated in five categories of the ACRAs. The nominations go to:

Best Current Affairs Presenter: Pete Davies; Mix 1049

Best Show Producer – talk current affairs: Matthew Hepworth; 360 with Pete Davies, MIX 1049

Best Newcomer On-air: Nick Karkazis; Hot 100

Best Digital Radio Format – short term: Cold Chisel Radio; David Rogerson & Phil Brandel,

Best Documentary – The 70th Anniversary Of The Bombing Of Darwin; Nick Karkazis, Media Heads & Phil Brandel, MIX 1049

The 70th Anniversary of the Bombing of Darwin was a special opportunity to highlight this significant historical event, and an honour to speak with veterans and survivors during the pre-production process, the nomination for the Best Documentary is further acknowledgment of this often overlooked part of Territory history.

Cold Chisel Radio was a first for an Australian Broadcaster acknowledging the work of a legendary Australian band. NT Broadcasters are also delighted the Short-term Digital Radio format Cold Chisel Radio has been nominated for an ACRA, a nod to the creativity that went in to it. Pete Davies, Matthew Hepworth and Nick Karkazis nominations are national recognition of their commitment and dedication to their craft and the listeners of the Top End.

General Manager for Classic Rock Digital/HOT 100/MIX 1049 Mark Johnson says “it was great news to learn yesterday that we had been nominated for 5 ACRAS, it’s a real tribute to the hard work that goes on behind the scenes to produce great radio.”



26 of the finalists in the 2012 Australian Commercial Radio Awards are former students of the Australian Film, Television and Radio School, two more than the record set last year. These finalists feature in 23 categories across metropolitan, provincial and country markets in seven States and Territories.

AFTRS Director Radio, Mark Collier says “the result is particularly pleasing as finalists come from a broad range of categories reflective of AFTRS Radio courses and teaching.”

Students studying in AFTRS two Graduate Diploma courses this year will emerge in several months, ‘industry ready’. 100% of students from the two courses last year gained positions within the broadcast industry ahead of their graduation last December.


For the past five years Welshy has scored the Best Talk Presenter award at the Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs). Today it was announced he is again a finalist for the category at this years awards. But Mike faces some internal competition from his colleague, Breakfast host Mark Parton who is also a finalist as Best Talk Presenter. In total 2CC has 6 finalists at this years awards:

Best Talk Presenter – Mark Parton
Best Talk Presenter – Mike Welsh
Best Current Affairs Presenter – Mike Welsh
Best Show Producer (Talk Current Affairs) – Jorian Gardner
Best Show Producer (Talk Current Affairs) – Monica Masters
Best Multi Media Execution – 2CC Christmas Lights, Peter Davidson &
Richard Phelps

General Manager Michael Jones has told radioinfo: “2CC’s local programming has been outstanding over the past year and this is reflected in the number and quality of finalists 2CC has in the Australian Commercial Radio Awards.”


Great news for MCM Media’s radio shows, scoring three nominations in the 2012 ACRA’s, the only shows to be nominated in the Best Syndicated Australian Program.

So The Hot Hits Live from LA, My Generation and Take 40 Australia will battle it out between them to see who takes the title home on October 13. This comes on top of great survey results for us with The Hot Hits Live from LA up 13.6% on last survey and Take 40 Australia up 11.5%

A full list of finalists is in our earlier story. Winners will be announced at the 24th Australian Commercial Radio Awards to be held at the Sydney Convention & Exhibition Centre on October 13.

Good luck to all finalists from radioinfo!