Russia blacklists 121 more Australians including journalists and defence figures

Russian officials say 121 Australian journalists, newspaper editors, business people, military officials and academics have been barred in retaliatory sanctions following a similar move by Canberra in May.

Russia’s foreign ministry says the move is in response to Australian government sanctions against Russian individuals, put in place following the Russian invasion of Ukraine on 24 February.

Those on the list have been accused of promoting a “Russophobic agenda” in Australia.

Names include ABC Chair Ita Buttrose, Nine CEO Mike Sneezby, Nine Chair Peter Costello, Seven Network Chair Kerry Stokes, AM host Sabra Lane and media personalities Stan Grant, Andrew Bolt and Liz Hayes.

All of those mentioned on the list are barred from entering Russia indefinitely.

Ita Buttrose will deliver tonight’s Andrew Olle lecture in Sydney and is expected to refer to the sanctions on her in the speech.