Young people recognised for contributions to media

The annual SYN Awards have recognised 36 young people for their outstanding contributions to community media at a Eurovision inspired event held last night at the State Library of Victoria.

Among the winners was Josh Olek, Executive Producer and one of the hosts of gaming show Radio Respawn, who was awarded with his team and fellow gaming show Sidequest for Best Message – Station ID or Promo.

Josh is now the Production Manager and Afternoons Announcer ar 2XL in Jindabyne, a role he secured after completing a year volunteering as one of the Executive Producers of SYN’s breakfast program, Get Cereal.

“It’s always nice to get your work validated, especially when it’s amongst the work of hundreds of other talented volunteers. SYN is an organisation that provides opportunities to hundreds of young people that no media organisation around Australia currently replicates, so being a part of that literally puts the special icing on the proverbial cake,” said Olek.

Other winners include Leona Hameed and Michael Brydon for their contributions to All the Best, a Walkley award winning program devoted to story telling, produced by FBi in Sydney in collaboration with SYN and other community radio stations across Australia.

Full list of Syn Award winners:

Best Schools On Air Team: Mullauna Secondary College
Best Music Team or Program: Georgia Martin, We Need To Talk About Film
Best Comedy Team or Program: Technical Difficulties and Life, With A Side of Fries
Best Current Affairs Piece: Matilda Marozzi and Sarah Maunder, Panorama
Best News Presenter: Broede Carmody
Best Radio Talk Team or Program: Leona Hameed, All the Best Story of the Week
Best Radio Segment or Feature: Michael Brydon, All The Best Story of the Week
Best Radio Interview: Future Politicians – Interview with Melanie Vassiliiou
Best TV Tech Crew Member: Joel McRae, Tuesday 1700 Technical Director
Best Message – Station ID or Promo: Josh Olek, San Hoang, Beck Dare and Mark Santomartino, Radio Respawn and Sidequest
Under 18 Volunteer or Program of the Year: Claudia Long, Objection
Producer of the Year – TV and Radio: Georgia Delaney Martin, In Joke
Presenter of the Year – TV and Radio: Claudia Long, Objection
Best TV and Screen Piece: Scott Whinfield and Sarah Jackson, 1700
Most Innovative New Content Idea: Michael Casha and Emily Gornalle, Online Department
Best Newcomer: Michael Casha and Emily Gornalle, Online Department
Best Review: Jessica Buccolieri, SYN Reviews – Melbourne International Film Festival
Best Seasonal Program: Tom & Olly – Class Captains
Diversity Program of the Year: Intersection
SYNners Choice: Claudia Long, Objection
Volunteer of the Year: Eddie Williams and Tim Hammond

Outstanding Achievement Above and Beyond: Kane Munro and Andrew Crook

SYN provides media training and broadcast opportunities to over 1000 young people each year. To find out more about SYN, visit

Tags: |